Switching from Windows to OS X without restarting?


Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
153
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Mac OS X v. 10.6.5
I have Windows 7 running on my Mac. In Pogue's book ("Switching..." p. 230) he writes you don't have to restart to get from Windows 7 to Mac. Instead, all you need to do is click on the Boot Camp system tray icon and from the short cut menu choose "Restart in Mac OS X". However, in Windows, when I click on that icon, I don't get that choice ("Restart...")

Is that choice located somewhere else? Is there another way to get to Mac without restarting and holding down the option/alt key?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
153
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Mac OS X v. 10.6.5
The title of this should read Switching to Mac FROM (not to) windows.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,562
Reaction score
675
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Think you have to right click on the icon - and it still restarts your machine into OS X - just don't have to use the Restart button from the menu.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Points
6
either way your going to be restarting you're machine. The only difference is you won't have to select which OS to boot to on the boot sequence by holding option.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
153
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Mac OS X v. 10.6.5
I am using the mouse that came w/ the Mac and can't "right click". However, I attached a wired mouse that does have a right click. Still, using that wired mouse and a right click, I did not get the "Start" choice that Pogue (see first item above) writes about. Is it just not available on the Mac and Boot Camp (revised) that I have?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
153
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Mac OS X v. 10.6.5
Anyone have an answer to my latest point immediately above, that is the mouse that comes with the Mac doesn't have a "right" click, just a click and therefore instructions to RIGHT click doesn't work?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2009
Messages
2,132
Reaction score
63
Points
48
Location
Lincoln Nebraska
Your Mac's Specs
late 08 macbook 2.0 4gig 320hdd10.7.3 32 gig iPhone 4s
I guess I am confused...What apple mouse do you have ? I have a wired mighty mouse and I right click all the time .

http://www.apple.com/magicmouse/

since I only have the mighty mouse to speak of heres for the magic just in case


Clay
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,132
Reaction score
702
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac late 2012 21.5 i5 10:14. iMac 2010 27"QuadI7 OS10.13, MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhone7
What Mac do you own?
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
42,271
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
Anyone have an answer to my latest point immediately above, that is the mouse that comes with the Mac doesn't have a "right" click, just a click and therefore instructions to RIGHT click doesn't work?
If you want to "simulate" a right-click on a one-button Macintosh mouse...just press the "ctrl" key + mouse click...voila...right mouse click!:)

HTH,

- Nick
 

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,017
Reaction score
806
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
2018 MacBook Air / Core i5 @ 1.6GHz, 16GB, 512GB SSD
I guess I am confused...What apple mouse do you have ? I have a wired mighty mouse and I right click all the time .

Apple - Magic Mouse - The world?s first Multi-Touch mouse.

since I only have the mighty mouse to speak of heres for the magic just in case


Clay
Do bear in mind that right-clicking needs to be enabled. In Windows, this is done in the Boot Camp control panel applet.

On OS X, this is done in System Preferences => Mouse.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2009
Messages
2,132
Reaction score
63
Points
48
Location
Lincoln Nebraska
Your Mac's Specs
late 08 macbook 2.0 4gig 320hdd10.7.3 32 gig iPhone 4s
Do bear in mind that right-clicking needs to be enabled. In Windows, this is done in the Boot Camp control panel applet.

On OS X, this is done in System Preferences => Mouse.
LOL I had forgotten that I had had to enable it....Sorry to the OP.

Clay
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
153
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Mac OS X v. 10.6.5
I finally found how to do what my original question concerned. There is an arrow on the right side of the Windows system tray, and clicking on that drops down (actually up) a list of additional items, one of which is the boot camp item/icon. Then, clicking on that gives an additional group of items, one of which is the "restart Mac OS X". Then, unfortunately, you get an another question to answer, to wit do you really want to restart, and clicking on that finally does the restart. Pressing option/alt is unnecessary. Whew!! Not sure it's all worth it, but there it is.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top