More than a bug

Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
I upgraded to Yosemite yesterday. It is a complete disaster and will not allow me to restore from Time Machine. Most apps no longer function. After a few minutes of inactivity, it crashes to a gray screen and tells me I shut it down incorrectly and the reboot process takes about 20 minutes. The wifi will not start at all without running a diagnostic, another 10 minutes to tell me that I don’t HAVE a wifi connection, although it does actually start. The wifi then drops out after 3 or 4 minutes and tells me that I have no internet connection, and to run diagnostics again. 2 of 3 web browsers no longer function. The computer is so slow now that when I type, it takes 10 seconds for the text to appear. I’m not a power user, I frankly am a bit of a technophobe, but I’m not stupid either. Bottom line, this doesn’t work at all any more and I have no way to uninstall this upgrade.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
What are the specs on your Mac? Which Mac is it?
 
OP
hempomatic
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
that would help huh?

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro9,2
Processor Name: Intel Core i5
Processor Speed: 2.5 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Boot ROM Version: MBP91.00D3.B09
SMC Version (system): 2.2f44
Serial Number (system): CPWL8PEYDTY3
Hardware UUID: 07EC9D22-0E5C-563F-9044-4131FEABC89C
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
That should not be happening with that hardware, especially the slowness. I am wondering if your hard drive is starting to die and the upgrade pushed it over the edge. It's just a guess as I as a Beta tester have not seen anything like you are seeing even with Beta 1.

Open Disk Utility in applications, utilities and click on the main hard drive. Check on the bottom. What does it say for SMART Status?
 
OP
hempomatic
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
Available: 260.74 GB (260,735,930,368 bytes)
Capacity: 498.88 GB (498,876,809,216 bytes)
Mount Point: /
File System: Journaled HFS+
Writable: Yes
Ignore Ownership: No
BSD Name: disk1
Volume UUID: 4E94A351-D1E9-3D7B-8834-8E54635DF304
Logical Volume:
Revertible: Yes (no decryption required)
Encrypted: No
LV UUID: 4989E72D-FC3C-4AC0-A686-AE8B6011BEFD
Logical Volume Group:
Name: Macintosh HD
Size: 499.25 GB (499,248,103,424 bytes)
Free Space: 19 MB (18,972,672 bytes)
LVG UUID: A070B888-0C89-49D9-96F8-D32680EAEC3B
Physical Volumes:
disk0s2:
Media Name: APPLE HDD HTS545050A7E362 Media
Size: 499.25 GB (499,248,103,424 bytes)
Medium Type: Rotational
Protocol: SATA
Internal: Yes
Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
Status: Online
S.M.A.R.T. Status: Verified
PV UUID: 12045084-CCF2-4F63-94D0-60931064E5B2
 
OP
hempomatic
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
The SMART status was not available from the disc utility, hope this helps.

I'd LIKE to use time machine to undo the damage, but it will only allow me to restore individual files. Am I relegated to a clean install and starting from scratch?

VERY discouraging and frustrating.
 
C

chas_m

Guest
Command-r restart, run disk utility, restore from Time Machine from there.
 
OP
hempomatic
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
That isn't any good because it doesn't let me choose the day before yesterday to restore from. The point is to eliminate Yosemite, not reinstall it. For the record, this machine only has a couple of hundred hours on it and it ran perfectly up to this point. The only reason I even HAVE it is for my music and photo library. In iTunes, it also turned all of my songs into individual albums, so now I have 11,657 individual albums in my library. iPhoto won't open at all, so you see, I NEED to restore from the PREVIOUS back-up to put everything back where it was. Yosemite has to be eliminated entirely.

I'm not a big fan of upgrades in general because they normally don't even apply to me, but I assumed (incorrectly apparently) that if I didn't like it, I could just go back a day and use that back up.

I apparently will also need an ethernet cable to attach directly to the time machine because the wiFi only works for a few minutes before dropping out.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
My Time Machine backups on the external drive are dated. There are many there. Do what Chas said and pick the right dated backup.
 
OP
hempomatic
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
I understand, however, they are not dated from utility on restart, ONLY from the time machine program once the computer is running. Time machine will not perform a restore regardless of the date chosen.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Mine when booting from Command+R or a Bootable flash drive and selecting restore from Time Machine Backup, if you expand Backup, you will see dated backups. I have done it so many times I know it's there.

And no, Time Machine from within OSX you can not do a TM restore of the whole system.
 
OP
hempomatic
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
SIGH, that didn't work . After erasing the drive, the backup went to 6% and stopped with an error that said "unable to restore from drive , restart system". The back up is no longer listed, and my wifi password no longer works, so wifi is out, and biggest fear is realized. 13000 songs and 20 years of pictures are gone from both the computer and the back up disc. What was I thinking? It worked fine, but I fell for the hype.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
there is either something wrong with the Time Machine backup or the Machine itself as I have never had one fail like that.
 
OP
hempomatic
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
I figured that much out, but now the computer has no data or operating system on it, and time machile is dead. I was quite vigilant with my backups having lost everything on a windows machine back in the day. There were never any errors from time machine, and this Mac is less than a year old. live and learn, but I'm kind of heartbroken here. I lost the pictures of my father and my daughter who both died last year.

You will be reading about me in the paper tomorrow morning. I'm taking this back to the Apple store and setting it on fire (the computer, not the store)

Too bad they stopped making kodachrome. I'm going back to my old 35 MM Canon and vinyl records, neither of which ever failed me.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
If you lived close to me I would say bring it by. If there is an apple store, make an appointment and take both the backup drive and the Mac there and see if they can help. Something is wrong somewhere. That is very unusual.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
792
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Actually no it isn't.

let me explain: yosemite beta had a huge bug with the macbook pro laptops the only way to install a stable version of the o.s was to copy the yosemite full version app not the beta to a lion os and run it there and low and behold it installs no bugs and very stable it doesn't like upgrading from maverick
 
OP
hempomatic
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
Good to know in retrospect, but as the title of this thread suggests, it's apparently a little more than a bug. it apears to have wiped out my hard drive, my backup drive AND my network. I can't use my network at all now, even with my phone. The password I've used for 7 years is no longer valid, that's what I get for keeping all of my eggs in one apple basket I suppose.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
383
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5" 2.5 i5 8G RAM OS X 10.10.3 (12C60)
As far as the iTunes mess of album covers showing, go the top right (almost) and click the arrow drop down and then "songs" and will...should...revert to a list style.
 
OP
hempomatic
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
469
Reaction score
16
Points
18
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB Catalina
no, the iTunes is totalled hosed. the files were actually fragmented as well. some songs were only 3 seconds long and all were out of any kind of sequence.

doesn't really matter at this point, the restore was a failure. I WAS hoping to yank the drive and pull the files indivually, but it doesn't look like that will work if it's all fragmented.

like I said, you'll read about me in the paper tomorrow.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top