Help with picking a system, Macbook Pro vs. iMac

Reaction score
Last month I got frustrated with my Win10 gaming rig, it needed a clean install of Win10 for the nth time. Since I don't game anymore I drug out my wife's late 2012 Mac Mini which hadn't been turned on in over 4 years. It worked fine and I upgraded the RAM to 16GB, the OS to Catalina, and put in a 1TB SSD, which I now regret since I'm going to get a new system. The mini does the basics for me but the Intel 4000 graphics are lacking, I can't drive my monitors at max res.

I'm debating between 2 systems which are close in price. I used to travel for a living (Pilot) but now I'm retired and rarely leave the house (especially with recent events!). I don't really need a laptop, would probably only take it out of the house a few times per year. The iMac would be fine but the laptop has superior specs for just $100 more. I'm good on monitors, have several spare ones. I have a 32" ultra wide gaming monitor that does 38XX by 22XX or similar (it's currently hooked up to the Win10 rig since the Mini doesn't support it well). And I have an older 28" 4K Samsung which I'm using right now along with a 23" Lenovo. With the MacBook I'd probably bring the 32" back over and use the 4K as 2nd monitor.

The MacBook Pro (Model:MV912LL/A) is 15.4" with Intel i9, 16GB RAM, 500GB SSD and Radeon Pro 560X/4GB.

The 27" iMac (Model:MRR12LL/A) is i5 @3.7ghz, 8GB RAM (I could upgrade to 16 for $79), 2TB Fusion Hybrid Drive, and Radeon Pro 580X/8GB.

I'm not too worried about the video since I can always do a clean install (again!) on my Win10 i7 with Nvidia 2080 GPU if I want to game.

The MacBook is on sale with $400 off for $2399; the iMac is regular price at $2299