Will updating the browser damage software

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I have been using my Mac with Adobe design software for quite a few years and my Chrome is out of date. Some years ago I was told that updating the browser may cause problems for my software and stopped updating for some time as I have a lot of software I want to look after. It would be good to update it though.
I wondered if anyone has an opinion or has updated chrome or safari and have software and have not noticed any issues.
Thanks.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to our forums.

Safari is updated along with macOS so it depends on which version of macOS you're currently using. We really need some specs on your system before we can provide answers. Which Mac do you have (year and model) and what version of macOS are you running?

Chrome can be updated but again, it depends on which version of macOS you're running?

Updating your browser should not have any effect on the software you're using.

OP
M
Reaction score
Welcome to our forums.

Safari is updated along with macOS so it depends on which version of macOS you're currently using. We really need some specs on your system before we can provide answers. Which Mac do you have (year and model) and what version of macOS are you running?

Chrome can be updated but again, it depends on which version of macOS you're running?

Updating your browser should not have any effect on the software you're using.
Hi and thank you for your reply,

I am using Version 10.6.8, have had this mac for awhile. I think I was recommended not to update the operating system as it would affect my software and became cautious of updating the browser also.

krs

Reaction score
Hi and thank you for your reply,