Wifi Stuck in 'off' :(

Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
6
MBP Wifi stuck in 'off' position :(

I was using my mac (10.7.2) and all of a sudden my computer just shut off. Weird.

When I boot back up I not longer have wifi turned on, and there's no way to turn it on. When you click 'turn on wifi' nothing happens.

Help? :(
 
OP
C
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I was using my mac (10.7.2) and all of a sudden my computer just shut off. Weird.

When I boot back up I not longer have wifi turned on, and there's no way to turn it on. When you click 'turn on wifi' nothing happens.

Help?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You didn't mention which Mac you have but did you try turning it off completely and also reset your router? If that doesn't work, try resetting the PRAM. Let us know if that fixes it.
 
OP
C
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I'm using an early 2011 15" MBP 2.4 i5 running 10.7.2.

I've tried resetting the PRAM with no luck. Didn't bother with the router. The wifi card isn't even on, let alone scanning networks.
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
Have you rebooted and still can't turn it on in Network Preferences?

Try entering this in a Terminal session

Code:
networksetup -setairportpower airport off

and then turning it back on

Code:
networksetup -setairportpower airport on

If it won't turn on after a reboot or from Terminal - may be time to give Apple a call.
 
OP
C
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Hi brian - I get this

"airport is not a Wi-Fi interface.
** Error: Error obtaining wireless information."
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
Sorry - I guess in Lion you have to specify the network interface now. Try this

Code:
networksetup -setairportpower en1 off

Code:
networksetup -setairportpower en1 on
 
OP
C
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Thanks - no dice though. When it switched to 'off' I was prompted for my password. Nothing happened when I switched it 'on'. I even tried closing terminal and trying again and still nothing.
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
And I'm assuming you've rebooted? Time to give Apple a call - smells like a chipset failure to me.

Yes - you should be prompted for your password - and no you won't see anything echoed in the command line - but the airport should toggle off and then on. If you've also rebooted and no joy - time to make that appointment with an Apple genie I guess. :)
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
I just read the first part of your post - very odd that your computer just turned off. Make sure you mention that in your call.
 
OP
C
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Yeah I've rebooted a couple times and tried a PRAM reset. This is beyond frustrating. In September I had the same problem except it said "no airport card installed". The Apple store replaced my wifi card - no luck. Then they replaced my logic board and it worked. Then I started crashing all the time and when I went back they said the logic board was faulty...new logic board. Now here we go AGAIN with wifi airport card problems :(.
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
Yeah - definitely would be frustrated myself. I'd mention all of that to whoever you get either on the phone or in the store. I'd be a little skeptical if I was carting around an MBP that had the innards replaced a couple of times and still wasn't working correctly. You're not working next to a giant transformer or EMP device are you?
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
I just realized you had posted duplicate threads. Please just post a single thread per topic - I've merged your two threads. Thanks.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top