What kind of video cable do I need for a Macintosh LC ii computer I'm selling...

Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Points
6
for a friend.

He has the original monitor it came with as well, but no video cable. What kind of cable/adapter do I need to hook up the two...
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,221
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
The video port on an LC II is a DB-15. The port on the computer looks like this (the lower one...there's two in the photo):

CC360-FS_LR.jpg


The cable end that would fit this port would look like this (below):

CC528-06_LR.jpg


The wider end on this cable is the DB-15 end. The more narrow end is VGA. If you have an Apple monitor of the same vintage...you would probably need a DB-15 on both ends.

HTH,

- Nick
 
C

chas_m

Guest
"selling?"

You're "selling" a 24 year old computer?

How much does the owner expect to get for it?
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,221
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Well the SE does, and so does the TAM which I just purchased, but an LC?

I would love to have an TAM!!! These are probably one of the most valuable Vintage Mac's around!!!:)

Did you actually just purchase a TAM?

- Nick
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,221
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
The computer alone goes for quite a bit on eBay

You should probably sell it on eBay.:) Many older Mac's sell for way too much on eBay (if they sell). Don't let high asking prices be confused with actual selling prices. Not everything sells. They just get relisted over & over & over & over again. Until someone finally (and maybe foolishly) pays the sellers price.

If I saw one on my local Craig's List...and it was working 100%...I wouldn't give more than $10-$15 max.

- Nick
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Sitting down Nick? Saw it advertised on Gumtree. One owner since brand new complete with OS 8.6 system discs, even though will probably take it 9.1, the latest it can handle, and the seller wanted $50.00 for it so I jumped!

And guess what? In the bottom of the original box is a Sonnet Crescendo 500MHz G3 card!!!!!!

Not that I will use that. Researching the TAMs not a screaming success.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,221
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Sitting down Nick? Saw it advertised on Gumtree. One owner since brand new complete with OS 8.6 system discs, even though will probably take it 9.1, the latest it can handle, and the seller wanted $50.00 for it so I jumped!

And guess what? In the bottom of the original box is a Sonnet Crescendo 500MHz G3 card!!!!!!

I am sitting!;) WOW...that is a screaming great price!!! Seller clearly did not know what they had. Even had the original box...which is not always the case!

Maybe this deal makes up for those SUPER high ram prices in Australia (even though you get from OWC)!

Wow...great find Harry...congrats!:)

- Nick
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,221
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Just checked eBay U.S. Harry. There seems to be about 4 TAM's for sale at the moment. Prices are in the $2000-$4000 range.

They may not sell for those price's. But if somone was to list one for $1000-$1500...I bet that it would sell real quick!:)

- Nick
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
No I don't think they will bring anywhere near that but sellers do like to hope! I reckoned about $500 if sold through eBay Australia. I am sure the price will go up over the next decade. The hardest part will be balancing on my perch!
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,221
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
No I don't think they will bring anywhere near that but sellers do like to hope! I reckoned about $500 if sold through eBay Australia. I am sure the price will go up over the next decade. The hardest part will be balancing on my perch!

Ship the TAM to me Harry. I will post it on eBay U.S. I will sell it for as much as it will go for...and I'll be fair & split things with you 25:75 (25% me...75% you). Even with the expensive shipping to the US...we should still make out pretty well!:)

That's fair I think!!!:):)

- Nick
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
LOL!! Back in '97 I purchased a new 5500 Performa 'All in One' Black Directors Special which is almost identical inside with the TAM - 250MHz CPU, 1GB hard drive, 128MB of memory and the old 603 processor. At the time the 5500 was about $2,500 and the TAM just under $7,000 so you can see why I went the way I did.

Don't recall on the 5500, but the TAM has an internal 33.6k dial up modem and no ethernet. Down Under very few ISPs offer a dialup service, even as a backup to ADSL. Mine certainly doesn't. I even have one of the old Apple plugin modems, remember them Nick?

Ship to US? Nick I could not even get my 2.3GHz Dual Core G5 across Australia without it arriving in five pieces!!
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,221
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I even have one of the old Apple plugin modems, remember them Nick?

I think I probably have 1 or 2 of them laying around somewhere!;)

Ship to US? Nick I could not even get my 2.3GHz Dual Core G5 across Australia without it arriving in five pieces!!

Hey you got the original box!:) We could put that box into another box...surrounding the original box with bubble wrap for extra protection. Then we insure it for about $5000. If it gets broken...we collect the insurance!!!;)

Just teasing Harry. Keep the TAM and enjoy it. You don't need the extra money with all of that Apple stock!;) Pretty darn cool...and an awesome deal!:)

- Nick
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,221
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
1,517
Reaction score
34
Points
48
Talking about the TAM ..I have an Ethernet adapter that hooks to the SCSI port ..theres always a way ..Hehe!
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
1,517
Reaction score
34
Points
48
Only if you're trying to go from the DB-15 connector on the LC II to a VGA monitor. If the computer is going to be used with an original Apple monitor as mentioned in post #1...then no this will not work.

Please reread & look at the photos in post #2.:)

- Nick

Wow theres been 141 sold ..1 in the last hour..I have a box of them things:D
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,221
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Wow theres been 141 sold ..1 in the last hour..I have a box of them things:D

Time to make some money…just save some for you!:)

- Nick
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top