Weather information/alerts on OS X 10.11.5

Reaction score
Hi all,

First off, I just want to say that I am brand new to the world of software development (most of my coding experience is in fairly basic web development), so I apologize in advance for if I seem clueless for writing this post. Recently I've gained an interest in AI development. Since Macs don't have Siri on them, I'm using enhanced dictation. So here's my question: Is there a way for me to tell my computer to pull a weather report from Accuweather? Weather.com is highly unreliable in my area, and I know I could just go to Accuweather's website, but that's not as fun as having my computer give me the report on its own. I'm somewhat familiar with Automator and am working on learning Script Editor.

Also, if I wanted to have my computer notify me when there's a severe weather warning/advisory in my current location (wherever that happens to be when I'm using my computer), is there a way for me to create a script that does that?

Thanks!

OP
P
Reaction score
I'm sorry, I didn't word my question very well! You're right, there are resources that can give me the alerts I'm looking for (and thank you for finding some of them for me!). But I'm wondering how to create an alert system for OS X on my own. It seems like an interesting thing to start with as I learn how to program in OS X. Do you know how I might go about creating that? Even just the type of code to use would be really helpful!

Thanks again for finding those resources, and sorry for my delayed response!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
That's probably more a question for the Mac programming types, so probably best to google the more specific question and/or ask at the various mac programming type forums.

I'm not into programming but there may be something in Automator or AppleScript and the free Xcode and maybe the new Swift code.