• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

WD new External drive problem.

Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
311
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Bribie Island Qld Australia.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, 21.5",OSX, Mojave Late 2012. Processor 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5. Memory now has 16GB. + macbook
I'm not sure this is the right place but I've just bought a WD My passport 4TB external drive for my iMac with Mojave 10.14.3. I went to disc utilities and clicked on erase, picked MS-DOS (Fat32) and then I think I must have clicked on the 'GUID Partition Map.' Can I erase and then reformat it to OS extended (journaled) as it now says I've used 2.2 TB's and Have 1.8 left. I do want to partition the disc but I can't alter anything as it is.
Ps: I've blundered in and erased what I think is the partition, but now the disc utility is telling me that I have no space left.
Second edit: I can't believe it but I've done it. Got the thing working properly now; three partitions and at the moment, I've got the time machine doing a huge back up.
 
Last edited:

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
41,956
Reaction score
661
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
Congrats Hoody. Enjoy the new drive.:)

- Nick
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
311
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Bribie Island Qld Australia.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, 21.5",OSX, Mojave Late 2012. Processor 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5. Memory now has 16GB. + macbook
Thanks Nick. More questions soon.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
311
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Bribie Island Qld Australia.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, 21.5",OSX, Mojave Late 2012. Processor 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5. Memory now has 16GB. + macbook
Don't say you didn't ask for it. I've still got the old 1TB time machine drive that's full with TM backups. Is there a way I can transfer all this to the new drive without going all through loading it on the computer and then putting it on the drive? Or is it maybe not worth it as I've already done the TM backup on the new drive.
Also, and I've asked this before and forgotten what the answer is: I'd like to make a bootable disc in case of serious trouble. I did download the free trial version of CCC, didn't use it and now it's gone of course, so now I'd need something else that's easy to use.
 

krs


Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
1,683
Reaction score
31
Points
48
Also, and I've asked this before and forgotten what the answer is: I'd like to make a bootable disc in case of serious trouble. I did download the free trial version of CCC, didn't use it and now it's gone of course, so now I'd need something else that's easy to use.
I have been using Super Duper to make bootable back-ups
SuperDuper!
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
311
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Bribie Island Qld Australia.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, 21.5",OSX, Mojave Late 2012. Processor 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5. Memory now has 16GB. + macbook
Many thanks to both of you, I'll get on to it. :)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
311
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Bribie Island Qld Australia.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, 21.5",OSX, Mojave Late 2012. Processor 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5. Memory now has 16GB. + macbook
After taking a bit of time deciding, I finally got the free trial of CCC again and it's making a back up on the iMac right now. If it all works out OK I'll get the paid for version. I now have a spare 500GB external drive, so I'll use that to do the macbook. Plenty of room there for a 120GB drive to be cloned. I would have liked to get a SSD drive, but the prices are eye watering over here where we get used to being ripped off.
 
Top