Virtual Machine Question

Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I just got my first iMac this week and I've installed parallels and windows and then re-installed my anti-virus - which used to run in the background of my actual PC before it died.

we installed windows because of a program my husband uses for work -so we may not actually use it *that* often. It may be really intensely used one week a month.

So my question is -do I have to run windows to get my AV to run? Or will it be running in the background?
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,940
Reaction score
574
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Yes, the only time Windows apps will run is when the VM is open.

Think of the VM as a virtual computer. You turn it on and off from Parallels and for all intents and purposes, it will act like a normal computer.
 
OP
D
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Yes, the only time Windows apps will run is when the VM is open.

Think of the VM as a virtual computer. You turn it on and off from Parallels and for all intents and purposes, it will act like a normal computer.

Hmmm..so what's the best way to manage the virus program?
 

Raz0rEdge

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
15,816
Reaction score
2,170
Points
113
Location
MA
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Just like a regular PC running Windows, you'll want to install some anti-virus in the Windows running in the virtual machine. THe VM doesn't give any necessary protection to Windows, but does give you the opportunity to quickly remove and re-install if you wish.

The other option is to install Windows and then create a snapshot of the pristine clean installation, should your Windows installation become compromised with a virus or something, restore to the snapshot and you're back in business..

You, however, risk losing any applications you've installed and any documents you've created..so understand that this shouldn't be the way you would normally do things..
 
OP
D
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I've already installed anti-virus on there but I'm accustomed to it just running in the background and now I guess I have to be more intentional? run it every week manually? Will it run while I have something else open even if that is only once a month? is that sufficient?
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,940
Reaction score
574
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
If you're talking about the Windows VM, run it whenever you wish. That said, when you boot the VM, the A/V will no doubt load in the background if its been setup to do that.
 
OP
D
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Okay - but do I NEED to run it in the weeks I don't happen to use the VM? I mean if I need windows on the 1st -5th of very month -is my VM vulnerable when it isn't running or is running A/V when I am actually in windows sufficient?
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
17,661
Reaction score
1,114
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
You shouldn't need to run the software at times you are not running Windows. If the virtual machine is not running which it won't be till you launch Windows, it's basically the same as if a Windows box was turned off the entire time.
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
17,661
Reaction score
1,114
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
You're welcome. Glad to help.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top