Upgrading Macbook Pro 15" (late 2011)

Reaction score
My mac is starting to fail on me and I'm thinking of replacing the standard 750GB hard drive with a around 200GB SSD drive. I am also thinking of upgrading my 4GB of ram to 8GB. I am an animator and use my laptop for Web browsing and large applications such as Photoshop, After Effects and Maya. My questions are,
1) what brands of hard drive and ram should I use that will be compatible with my mac? Also to install these would I need any extras?
2) if I was to buy a empty external hard drive case and put my old hard drive in there could it work to restore the new hard drive with my old information (my laptop is acting up otherwise I would back up prior to.upgrade but atm that's not gona happen)
If anyone has any other experience with upgrading macs then I'd love yo hear! Thanks

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
1) what brands of hard drive and ram should I use that will be compatible with my mac?

Just head to OWC (macsales.com)…and purchase everything there. No real worries regarding brands.:)

Also to install these would I need any extras?

I'm not really sure what you mean by "extras". The ram install is easy…and the new storage device is not that much harder either. Both require the bottom panel to be removed. So minimally you need a micro-screw driver set…and instructions found at ifixit.com.

2) if I was to buy a empty external hard drive case and put my old hard drive in there could it work to restore the new hard drive with my old information (my laptop is acting up otherwise I would back up prior to.upgrade but atm that's not gona happen).