Trying to install Leopord over Tiger, get stuck on white loading screen

Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
92
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Location
Baker, FL
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP Late 2010 2.4ghz, 4GB, 250HD - 2010 iMac 21.5-inch 3.06GHz Intel Core i3, 500HD, 4GB
I've made 2 disks for Leopard, and neither work. I put one in the disk drive and then it prompts me to restart to start installing but it just sits on the white loading screen with the apple. Can someone please help me out? is it possible for me to get Leopard onto my mac?

1.8 Single, 1.5GB RAM, (have 2GB in it but only 1.5 are showing in About this mac...)

750GB HD.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2010
Messages
1,808
Reaction score
40
Points
48
Location
Chicago
Your Mac's Specs
late 2012 mini w/SSD
I've made 2 disks for Leopard, and neither work.

... that's your problem. It's illegal.
If you've copied someone else's gray "machine-specific" DVD, then that will never work.
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
92
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Location
Baker, FL
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP Late 2010 2.4ghz, 4GB, 250HD - 2010 iMac 21.5-inch 3.06GHz Intel Core i3, 500HD, 4GB
... that's your problem. It's illegal.
If you've copied someone else's gray "machine-specific" DVD, then that will never work.

Think I should stick with Tiger, or buy a copy of Leopard for $120?
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Even better spend $29 and get Snow Leopard if it is for your MacBook Pro or iMac. Then you can update to Lion OS X.7. Tiger is an old, old operating system no longer supported by Apple.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2009
Messages
315
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Ontario, Canada
I thought it was illegal to buy and install used software?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
It's not illegal to buy and install used software or an operating system provided it's not being used or retained by someone else at the same time. In other words, they still retain the license. That's why when buying a used copy of say, Leopard, make sure you receive the original DVD not a copy. If the person who sold it to you is still retaining a copy on his\her machine, then they are in violation of the EULA not you.
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
92
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Location
Baker, FL
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP Late 2010 2.4ghz, 4GB, 250HD - 2010 iMac 21.5-inch 3.06GHz Intel Core i3, 500HD, 4GB
Well it is for my G5. I wish I could use Snow Leopard.. But, I'm seeing if any of my friends has a 10.5 retail disk.
 

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,042
Reaction score
812
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Well it is for my G5. I wish I could use Snow Leopard.. But, I'm seeing if any of my friends has a 10.5 retail disk.

Unfortunately, that would be a form of piracy and if you choose to go that route, we won't be able to help you with it here.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Now that is illegal using a friend's disc.
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
92
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Location
Baker, FL
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP Late 2010 2.4ghz, 4GB, 250HD - 2010 iMac 21.5-inch 3.06GHz Intel Core i3, 500HD, 4GB
Would I have to buy it from him? I didn't think it'd be different from using a used one that I bought.
 

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,042
Reaction score
812
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Would I have to buy it from him? I didn't think it'd be different from using a used one that I bought.

Assuming it's unused, no you wouldn't necessarily have to buy it from him. But it's licensed per machine - so if it's been orphaned (i.e. he's upgraded and is no longer using it), it's not a problem.
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
92
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Location
Baker, FL
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP Late 2010 2.4ghz, 4GB, 250HD - 2010 iMac 21.5-inch 3.06GHz Intel Core i3, 500HD, 4GB
Yeah, I wouldn't use it if he was still using Leopard. Only because if his computer messed up and needed to reinstall.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top