Time Machine Alternative? Or other backup software to a NAS.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 iMac, 2011 Mac Mini (both upgraded memory)
I apologize if there's a better section I should have used for this, but didn't see a "Backup/Restore" area.

I currently have 2 Macs that I leave running 24/7 and have Time Machine turned off on the Mac Mini, but turned on on the iMac. I have a TerraMaster NAS that has Time Machine features built-in and used that for the iMac, but have non-stop problems with the backups.

If I delete the backup and start from scratch, I can get one full backup with no problem, just takes like a full day to complete. Then over the next couple of days, it will do maybe one or two backups if I'm lucky on its own. If I try to manually create a backup it sticks at "Preparing backup" for like 10 minutes then either just goes back to the normal Time Machine window (not doing a backup) or it throws an error saying that my backup file is currently in use and I need to eject it.

So, I got Acronis to do backups and it worked great, but the 1 year I had recently ran out and I can't justify paying the price they want for cloud backup when I can just backup the files to my NAS. However, I need recommendations of software that I can use to replace Time Machine and Acronis. I don't mind paying for the software but refuse to pay an annual fee. Ideally, I want to buy one piece of software and be able to back up both of the computers to the NAS, but I'm fine with not backing up the Mac Mini if I have to pay additional licenses.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

--Edit--
Not sure it matters, but for reference:
Mac Mini: Latest High Sierra (can not upgrade further)
27" iMac: Latest Big Sur (can upgrade to Monterey, just haven't yet)

Last edited:
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 16" 2023 (M3 Pro), iPhone 15 Pro, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMinis (multiple)
Welcome to the forum.