"The selected movie won't play on your display"

Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
857
Reaction score
52
Points
28
27" iMac late-2012. Just played this movie the other day. What gives? I'm trying to play it on the actual iMac display. I don't even have another display connected. :Not-Amused:

16318114856_93edd01aee_o.png
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
I've posted the same thing with no responses here. Have only seen a couple of other threads around the web. There's got to be some sort of bug in the handing of HDCP with OS X 10.10. Have not figured out why and it just about quit right after I posted the question and doesn't occur anywhere near often enough to spend the time messing with it. The current fix I've found is to reboot the machine.
 
OP
usagora
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
857
Reaction score
52
Points
28
I've posted the same thing with no responses here. Have only seen a couple of other threads around the web. There's got to be some sort of bug in the handing of HDCP with OS X 10.10. Have not figured out why and it just about quit right after I posted the question and doesn't occur anywhere near often enough to spend the time messing with it. The current fix I've found is to reboot the machine.

Rebooting fixed it. Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
15,165
Reaction score
605
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
I'm glad to hear a reboot worked for you, but for bobtomay, it seems that you're not alone:
"Some users are seeing an HDCP compliant error message appear when watching Netflix, and possible solutions include switching to Silverlight rather than HTML5 or unplugging display peripherals. Alternatively, you could switch to another browser until either Apple or Netflix get around to fixing the bug. …"
The Worst Bugs in OS X Yosemite and How to Fix Them

Maybe a new Yosemite "feature"?? ;(
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
It's not limited to Netflix nor Safari.

I have seen the HDCP error with Netflix, Vudu, Amazon, iTunes on my MBA display and while using Airplay to an AppleTV with content that is not even protected by HDCP. It really doesn't make much sense and why a simple reboot fixes it??? I don't think I've seen the error since the 10.10.1 update, so (crossing fingers) maybe it's fixed.

I've seen iTunes play a movie that's been purchased, but pop up the HDCP error if I try to play the trailer. What's up with that?
Go looking for a new movie - check out 6 of them, 3 of them the trailer won't play due to HDCP error, the other 3 play just fine.
Reboot, and they all play. I'm beginning to think it is a memory handling problem.
 
Last edited:

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top