Sleeping MBP overheating over night

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mid 2012 MackBook Pro, 2.53 GHz i7, 16GB Ram, 512GB SSD MacOS 10.14.6
Rod,

I suppose hibernate the proper term. What ever it is the light on the front is out in the morning and it takes a few seconds to wake up where if just sleeping it wakes up immediately.

Cliff

Reaction score
I am no expert here - but my experience of MacBooks is that they don't go to sleep easily - I have the PleaseSleep extension loaded to try and help mine to nod off. I also find that 9 times out of 10 the problem when my MacBook starts heating up is a googleChromeHelper thread running amok - so either kill off google chrome or add "The Great Suspender" extension to power down all those google tabs when they are not in active use....

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Nah. The vast majority of MacBooks, MacBook Pro's, and MacBook Air's have no problems being put to sleep.:)

I can almost guarantee that the "sleep issue" in almost all case's (when it does happen)...is a software issue. If the computers storage was "nuked & paved" (completely erased/wiped & a freash install of the OS)...the computer almost alway sleeps fine.

The difficulty is...this approach is pretty drastic/radical...and in many case not worth it. And the difficulty can be tracking down exactly what the software conflict is causing the sleep issue.

Bottom line is. Vast majority of Apple computers have no issues sleeping.:)

- NIck

OP
Rod

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.