Seagate Freeagent: "The disk you inserted is not readable by this computer"

Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
71
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I believe this harddrive is formatted Fat32. I want to format it for my Mac for video editing. It's brand new, never used. When I plug it in, this is the message I get:

"The disk you inserted is not readable by this computer"

I am using OS X 10.5.8

What is the problem?
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
8,428
Reaction score
295
Points
83
Location
Waiting for a mate . . .
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Have you opened up Disk Utility to see if it really is there or not. ??
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Did you try using the Partition Tab or just Erase in Disk Utility?
 
OP
M
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
71
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Erase. I don't know how to use partition. I just opened the tab and nothing is clickable other than volume scheme.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Go into Partition, and select a partition set up, even if one partition, and format Mac OS Extended (Journalled). Let us know your progress? Hard drives invariably arrive set up for Windows.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Does this HD have two USB plugs on the cable by any chance? If so, you need to plug both in. This might be why it isn't being read properly.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Messages
481
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, Power Mac G4, iMac G3, iPhone 3GS
Mac OS X can read FAT32 just fine. If it's NTFS, though... well...
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
You should still be able to read the drive if it's NTFS but regardless, the current filesystem of the drive shouldn't affect the formatting (to the best of my knowledge). Have you tried formatting it with a different fs?
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Van is totally correct.

To the OP, is the drive BUS powered or does it have it's own Power Supply? That is what VAN was getting at with the question about dual usb cable.
 
OP
M
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
71
Reaction score
0
Points
6
A different FS? I dunno what you mean.

The drive can't be read, it won't format, it won't partition. I only own one computer, a Mac.

The external harddrive is one USB cable and a power cable to the wall.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Which FreeAgent do you have? Looking at Seagate's website, they have a couple different FreeAgents. Not knowing anything about them other than what's on Seagate's website, it looks like some might require a power adapter (FreeAgent Desk and Xtreme) and some look to be small enough (FreeAgent GO) to be bus powered. I could be wrong but it looks like there are both.

EDIT: I evidently can't research and type fast enough.

Different FS = different filesystem. Have you tried formatting it as FAT32? I know it's already formatted that way but I just want to see if you can format it at all.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
I will ask the same question, what model is this Seagate Freeagent? There are many models and types.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Oh that drive. A friend has that one except his had FW800 and ESata also. It's been a pain for him actually but I got it working.

Does the drive show up now that it's FAT32? If so open Disk Utility. Click on the drive. Click on the partition tab. See at the very top where it says CURRENT? Click on the clicker by CURRENT and on 1 partition. Then on Options and if you have an Intel Mac select GUID. Then on Apply.

Let us know if that works. Also after you change current to 1 partition be sure the file system is mac osx extended (journalized) .
 
OP
M
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
71
Reaction score
0
Points
6
It still says "the disk inserted is not readable by this computer."

It also clicks a bit when it first powers up. Maybe it's just bad.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Did you do what I said above? Exactly in that order?

If so I would return it and demand a replacement.

Picture 1.jpg
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top