• This forum is for posting news stories or links from rumor sites. When you start a thread, please include a link to the site you're referencing.

    THIS IS NOT A FORUM TO ASK "WHAT IF?" TYPE QUESTIONS.

    THIS IS NOT A FORUM FOR ASKING QUESTIONS ABOUT HOW TO USE YOUR MAC OR SOFTWARE.

    This is a NEWS and RUMORS forum as the name implies. If your thread is neither of those things, then please find the appropriate forum to ask your question.

    If you don't have a link to a news story, do not post the thread here.

    If you don't follow these rules, then your post may be deleted.

Safari 5.1.2 out now, fixes memory leaks, stability

Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
9,571
Reaction score
25
Points
48
Safari 5.1.2 out now, fixes memory leaks, stability

safari512update.jpg

Apple has released version 5.1.2 of Safari, now available in a Software Update near you. The new version, according to the notes, increases stability, fixes a few issues that could cause hangs and memory leaks, and fixes an issue that would allow web page to flash to white. No more more freaky strobes when loading up a new URL, hopefully.

The patch also allows web pages to show PDF content right inline with the rest of their web material, which is a nice option for programmers who need to show content that way. In fact, we'll just say we're looking at you, restaurants -- can't you just pay someone to translate that menu into CSS and HTML instead of making us read the PDF directly. Sheesh. Safari 5.1.2 is a 40.2 MB update, and does require a restart. Grab it at your leisure.

Safari 5.1.2 out now, fixes memory leaks, stability originally appeared on TUAW - The Unofficial Apple Weblog on Tue, 29 Nov 2011 19:05:00 EST. Please see our terms for use of feeds.




SourceÂ*|Â*PermalinkÂ*|Â*Email thisÂ*|Â*Comments

Read more
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Looks like the memory leak has been fixed this time for real. We'll see how well it holds up after several hours....
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
849
Reaction score
14
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Core i5(3.6 GHz) 8 GB RAM, MBP C2Duo(2.4 GHz) 4 GB RAM, MB C2Duo(2.4 GHz) 2 GB RAM
I'm really excited about this. That memory leak was really getting out of hand.
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
Yay. Off to download now.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
4,301
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
The lonely planet
Your Mac's Specs
Too many...
What exactly was fixing the memory leak suppose to do? I still am using an obscene amount of ram for safari, even though I only have 2 pages open. Safari Web Content alone uses up almost 500mbs.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
What's a memory leak? I notice my safari is really slow sometimes, is that more of an internet connection issue?
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Van, have your tried SunSPider yet and does it still loose it's way? If not, I guess they fixed it. Trying it now.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
2,641
Reaction score
26
Points
48
Location
Albuquerque, New Mexico
I don't know about anybody else, but I haven't used Safari since I jumped ship to Chrome. It's just one of the things about Chrome that I like - themes and bookmark syncing across computers.

But I am glad to know that Safari 5's memory leak has been fixed.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Van, have your tried SunSPider yet and does it still loose it's way? If not, I guess they fixed it. Trying it now.
Haven't tried it yet - I have a few things on the go that I can't afford to restart the Mac. I'll give it a try later when I have a spare moment.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Haven't tried it yet - I have a few things on the go that I can't afford to restart the Mac. I'll give it a try later when I have a spare moment.

Well I tried it right after I posted. It's not fixed here. 1.6GB for that Web process after SunSpider and the test gets slower and slower as it goes just like before the new fix but the score is amazing.

I have not manually released the RAM hoping it would drop back down, but no, it's still at 1.6GB after over an hour!
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
It would seem then that Safari is still unable to both release memory and contain its usage.

I just tried the test here in the most recent Opera 12 build. At the start, it was using 346.7 MB of RAM and upon completion, it had actually dropped to 331.7 MB. I'll have to find another good test for this...perhaps Peacekeeper.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
3,494
Reaction score
204
Points
63
Location
Going Galt...
Your Mac's Specs
MacBookAir5,2:10.13.6-iMac18,3:10.13.6-iPhone9,3:11.4.1
No joy on memory here. Bummer. I will continue to use Firefox for now.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2010
Messages
85
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac, 500GB HD, 8GB RAM, 32GB iPhone 4S Black, 32GB iPod Touch
Safari Still Leaking Memory?

The update said it had fixed this issue but my Activity Monitor shows 214MB being used by Safari and 562MB being used by Safari Web Content. Isn't this excessive?
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Merged threads.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
The update said it had fixed this issue but my Activity Monitor shows 214MB being used by Safari and 562MB being used by Safari Web Content. Isn't this excessive?
It may or may not be depending on a few factors including (but not limited to) what content you've viewed and how long you've had it open.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Just did a Peacekeeper test. Safari didn't seem to go out of control until the test started to use web workers to do multiple tasks at once. Thankfully though, Safari released the 200 MB of RAM it needed to do the web workers task. I didn't get a final reading though since Safari get looping through the test for some reason. It seemed to reach a point and then start all over again.

For comparison's sake, Opera Next (12 build 1174) started with 222.5 MB of RAM and ended with 312.1 MB. I'd say that is a win for Safari but seeing as how it kept looping through the test for some reason, I'll call it a draw.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Van, Did you ever get a score from Peacekeeper? Here is just kept looping and looping. I had to exit the test. Ram did what you said, but it's sure different on Sun Spider!

:D
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
No, I was focused more on the RAM and I figured that since Safari didn't finish, I'd have nothing to compare the Opera score to when I was done.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
The new Safari gets an amazing score on Sun Spider but that RAM usage is so bad.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
I just did SunSpider and got 375.2ms but it was using 1.41 GB of memory. Opera on the other hand took a fraction of the time and scored a comparable 438.4ms. This score is more impressive when you consider that Opera is only using 283.7MB of memory (I also had some Flash content open at the same time).
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top