Safari 4.0.5

Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
707
Reaction score
13
Points
18
OK, the Mrs. and I have just updated to Safari 4.0.5 and we are both experiencing slow macs that were running fine shortly before the update. Both of them even locked up and had to be turned off and rebooted. Is anyone else having problems with this update? :\
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
3,308
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Whangarei NZ
Your Mac's Specs
27 iMac+Thunderbolt, iMac 21,
Just did mine but i am on 10.6.2 and all is normal - is that your OS - if not then download another version. May be better to revert to backup then install correct version if in fact you used the wrong one.


Click for full size
 
OP
DaFlake
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
707
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Yep, we are on 10.6.2 ... I did run the permission check on my box with another reboot and things seem to be a little better. I'll have to do the same on the MBA and see if it helps.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
3,308
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Whangarei NZ
Your Mac's Specs
27 iMac+Thunderbolt, iMac 21,
Perhaps give both a clean up with Onyx
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
I was just coming on to report that Safari 4.0.5 was released today via Software Update. So far working fine here on iMac G5 iSight with 10.5.8.

Picture 2.jpg
 
C

chas_m

Guest
For those of you using Safari on laptops with the Intel GMA950 chipset, I can report that this version is a BIG improvement, particularly in using Top Sites (but also with things like scrolling).

I would imagine those of you with newer Macs and better graphics chipsets will not see such a noticeable improvement in the graphics handling.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
For those of you using Safari on laptops with the Intel GMA950 chipset, I can report that this version is a BIG improvement, particularly in using Top Sites (but also with things like scrolling).

I would imagine those of you with newer Macs and better graphics chipsets will not see such a noticeable improvement in the graphics handling.

I think what you have noticed is for sure happening. My iMac G5 Last Gen with iSight has a Radeon x600. In Safari videos and graphics have been dragging of late. Seems much more snappy now. Will try it on my other Macs later.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
5,473
Reaction score
201
Points
63
Location
Down Under :D
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Yep, the only improvement that I'm seeing is that the weird snapback issue that was happening with scrolling has been fixed, which is a good enough improvement for me (even though I mostly use firefox).
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
7,305
Reaction score
308
Points
83
Location
Wisconsin
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Is anybody running the new Safari 4.0.5 with OS 10.5.8?

...any issues?
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Is anybody running the new Safari 4.0.5 with OS 10.5.8?

...any issues?

I am on a Power PC G5 iMac with 10.5.8. running 4.0.5 and no issues at all. Seems faster with some graphics on sites.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2009
Messages
2,132
Reaction score
63
Points
48
Location
Lincoln Nebraska
Your Mac's Specs
late 08 macbook 2.0 4gig 320hdd10.7.3 32 gig iPhone 4s
Is anybody running the new Safari 4.0.5 with OS 10.5.8?

...any issues?

I am , no issues after getting it to install . Had to do a hard boot after machine froze during restart but after the boot no problems been on it for 5 hours now without a glitch.

Clay
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
7,305
Reaction score
308
Points
83
Location
Wisconsin
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Cool. I'll jump on board!
 
OP
DaFlake
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
707
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Still seeing some weird things myself and have had to reboot twice to fix it.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
4,695
Reaction score
73
Points
48
Location
houston texas
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
So far so good but can't tell if there are any gains but it does not appear to have broken
anything.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
5,473
Reaction score
201
Points
63
Location
Down Under :D
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Hard to describe, but I use to have Safari open to Apple as home page by default, which had recently added downloads, new Apps, itunes 9, etc on the main page content, with a bunch of other stuff, with the downloads list in the left.
What happened to this page?
Now it opens up to a big iPad advert and I have to manually type in Apple - Downloads in the address bar.
What's up with that?
If I set up that page as the home page, it defaults to US and I have to manually select Australia region down the bottom if I want it to keep tabs on Mac prices, support numbers, etc
Any ideas?
BEFORE except it was au region


NOW
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
5,658
Reaction score
159
Points
63
Location
*Brisvegas*
Your Mac's Specs
17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3
I think it's just that Apple made the downloads page non-region specific. As in the US downloads page is for everyone now.

I type in apple.com.au/downloads and it re-directs me to the apple.com/downloads which is the US page. You could have the Apple store Australia as your home page. Then you'd get the Apple Australia prices.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
5,473
Reaction score
201
Points
63
Location
Down Under :D
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Before I had quick access to the downloads, and could flick through the tabs for Store, Macs, Support, etc.
Now, I loose the quick access to the downloads page, which I frequent regularly...... so my only option now is to add the downloads page and the Australian home page as bookmarks quick and easy interchangable access to both, and keep the existing layout.
As it was, the downloads page (first diagram) was my home page, and if I clicked Store tab, it would take me to the Australian store, where as now, it takes me to the US store.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
5,658
Reaction score
159
Points
63
Location
*Brisvegas*
Your Mac's Specs
17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3
Yeah unfortunately a bookmark or manually navigating to the Aussie store is the only option now.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
5,473
Reaction score
201
Points
63
Location
Down Under :D
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Not that I'm blaming you, but really not happy about this.... Apple has gone and added a pain in the butt that wasn't there before.
I spend so much time on this Forum defending Apple and it's user friendly software and apps, quality, customer support, loyalty etc and this is how they repay may? LOL
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top