Right click takes a while?

Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
475
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Portland, OR
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro, 13" MacBook Black, 15" iMac G4, 24" iMac (soon!)
Whenever I right click on something, whether it be in Word, Safari, whatever...it takes a while. It sits for about 4 seconds, then the "busy" pinwheel comes up and spins for another 2 seconds, and then finally I get my right click menu.

What gives? Anybody else having this problem?

Note: This only happens the FIRST time I right click after opening an app. All subsequent right clicks are nearly instantaneous.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
4,915
Reaction score
68
Points
48
Location
Mount Vernon, WA
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2
Do you have a special contextual menu installed? For example I had picture Pop CM installed.. the latest version which started crashing me, so I uninstalled it and back to normal. Or the stuffit CM, etc etc? Disabled them and see if it works after that.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2004
Messages
2,860
Reaction score
21
Points
38
Location
Miami FL
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
Also, it may not be relevant -but can't hurt - repair permissions-
about every 2 weeks: close all apps and log totally off. Log on, go in Finder, Applications. Utilities, Disk Utility. After the message -getting disk information- select volume (below the hard drive name -upper left corner). Just highlight it. Now look to the lower two things are there near the middle, verify permissions, repair permissions. Click repair permissions.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Right after you log in, it takes a few seconds on a right click to load all the CM's into a cache. After that it reads from the cache almost instantly.
 
OP
Osiris22x
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
475
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Portland, OR
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro, 13" MacBook Black, 15" iMac G4, 24" iMac (soon!)
You know, I just KNEW that witeshark was going to post his permissions thing. But no...that didn't help. BTW, instead of printing all that crap out, why not just recommend this tool, it does permissions, cache cleaning, prebinding, and all scripts with a simple click. It's also free.

http://homepage.mac.com/jim.mitchell/yasu/

Anyway, I don't have any menu changing programs installed. Also, my girlfriend's new Powerbook does the same thing, and she doesn't have ANY aftermarket system software installed on it yet.

*sigh* It's really starting to drive me nuts.
 
S

SogniX

Guest
I have (had?) the same problem on my PowerBook,
But I just noticed it's not doing that now.
Last thing I did different was that I disabled Windowshade and APE (while trying to troubleshoot a program not launching (SNES Emulator :().

I can't stand NOT having Windowshade more than right-click lag, so I'll just have to live with the lag. :/
 
OP
Osiris22x
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
475
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Portland, OR
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro, 13" MacBook Black, 15" iMac G4, 24" iMac (soon!)
Yeah, it's horrible and it's embarassing...especially when a Mac hater is watching you do something, and you do a simple right click and it takes five minutes for the menu to show up! ;)
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2004
Messages
2,860
Reaction score
21
Points
38
Location
Miami FL
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
I'm gonna research that now. There must be an answer! Ok maybe this helps? :cool:
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
4,915
Reaction score
68
Points
48
Location
Mount Vernon, WA
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2
That is just strange :( MIne opens automatically, very fast...
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2004
Messages
2,860
Reaction score
21
Points
38
Location
Miami FL
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
I thought there should be no reason for that... I never went to the multi mouse myelf - I think the Mac mouse is too cool and I got adapted to keyboard shortcuts in a hurry for some reason... ;)
 

rman


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
12,637
Reaction score
168
Points
63
Location
Los Angeles, California
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
What version of the OS are you running?
 
OP
Osiris22x
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
475
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Portland, OR
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro, 13" MacBook Black, 15" iMac G4, 24" iMac (soon!)
I fixed it ;)

That URL witeshark, just explains what right click is, and how to use it...

Anyway, I ended up reinstalling OS X to fix it...it was driving me crazy. It works fine now! All of my right clicks are instant, as they should be.
:)

I'm fairly certain at this point that the program that messed it up, was FruitMenu, and the accompanying installer that goes with it, Ape.

Anyhow, all is well.
 
T

TylerMoney

Guest
Well, I guess I'm just happy to say, I have yet to have any problems at all with my powerbook...it's been nothing but pleasure.....I can't complain about anything....panther is my hero....but if I have any of those problems ever, I know what to do I guess....though there must be a better way to get it fixed....I don't plan on having any programs like that on my system though....just small fun ones....
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2004
Messages
2,860
Reaction score
21
Points
38
Location
Miami FL
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
Osiris22x said:
That URL witeshark, just explains what right click is, and how to use it...
Anyway, I ended up reinstalling OS X to fix it...it was driving me crazy. It works fine now! All of my right clicks are instant, as they should be.
:)
I'm fairly certain at this point that the program that messed it up, was FruitMenu, and the accompanying installer that goes with it, Ape.
Anyhow, all is well.
Well that's great news! Now the Mac haters over your shoulder lost that sticking point! ;) :D
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top