Ram Upgrade

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G5 2ghz Dual Processor, 12" Scrolling TrackPad Powerbook
Hello,

I'm going to ask a stupid question. I'm thinking of upping the ram in my Dual 2 gig G5. I'd like to get an extra 2 gig of ram in it (I'm an animation student working with tonnes of high quality images and sound). The thing is 4 512 mb dimms are half the price of 2 1 gig dimm's. I'm not going to be filling up my spare ram slots any time soon, so should I go for the 4 512 mb dimms or would it be better for me to get the 2 1 gig dimms? Is there any significant difference in performance between the two or are the 2 1 gig dimms just space saving? Being of the creative type I'm not to hot on the technical side of things!

Thanks for any advice anyone offers

Laters, Johnny Luu ^_^

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
You can do 4 512mb sticks but in the long run if you plan to upgrade again it will much more costly

OP
johnnyluu
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
trpnmonkey41 said:
You can do 4 512mb sticks but in the long run if you plan to upgrade again it will much more costly

Yeah, I thought as much, the thing I'd really like to know is if there's any real difference in performance. I'm not likely to upgrade for a good few years, by which time a new mac will be available and the ram prices would have dropped. So if there's no real difference in performance I'll probably go for the 4 512's. That'll set my machine at 3 gig which is ample.

Thanks for the reply.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
Ram prices are at the lowest that they will probably be

its also much cheaper to get the ram from a 3rd party...anything but apple

www.memoryx.net is a good place

OP
johnnyluu
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
trpnmonkey41 said:
Ram prices are at the lowest that they will probably be