Pot. buyer questions: RS-232 serial, external display, heat

S

strlen

Hi,

I'm just your average UNIX geek, looking to buy an iBook (12" G4) (first post here).

First,while I've already done a "search on battery life" and found a 5-6 hour average, I'm wondering how the airport extreme would impact that (would be a noticeable difference?). And furthermore, is there a considerable battery life difference between iBoook and PowerBook?

Second, what sort of solutions are there for getting RS-232 serial? I'm a UNIX admin and I absolutely require the ability to access serial console of our servers and routers. What solutions (USB-> serial adapters?) are there? Would the device be also visible on the UNIX end (so that I could use it with an application like minicom, and generally use it as I would any /dev device)?

Thirdly, on an external display, can I use a resolution higher than what the internal display supports (higher than 1024x768 basically) -- 1024x768 on a 21" screen would be rather painful.

Lastly, how much heat does the G4 generate compared to say a Pentium 4 or a lap-burner Pentium 3? I'm curious, as it's virtually impossible to my Pentium 3 laptop on my lap due to the heat generation.

- strlen

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
strlen said:
Hi,

I'm just your average UNIX geek, looking to buy an iBook (12" G4) (first post here).

First,while I've already done a "search on battery life" and found a 5-6 hour average, I'm wondering how the airport extreme would impact that (would be a noticeable difference?). And furthermore, is there a considerable battery life difference between iBoook and PowerBook?
Using the AirPort does decrease battery life, but I don't have any hard figures. I'd guess it would be "noticeable," but not as significant as, say, screen brightness.