office 2011

Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
369
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Orange County, NY
Your Mac's Specs
iMac-21.5"(2017):OS Catalina 10.15.2 IOS13.3 iPhone 8+ iPadpro v2
I replaced HDD with a SSD on macbook pro. Before doing so, I cloned a copy of the existing HDD. No problems with replacement or starting up. Everything was just as before the exchange. The only thing was that when WORD was run for the first time after the replacement, I was required to type in the product key. This was no problem, but it could have been if I had not the easy access to the original Office install DVD case (I have since added a shot of the case to my Docs folder). So my question is, why would I have to type in the product key if this was a whole and complete copy of everything that was on the old HDD?
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,219
Reaction score
1,427
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I replaced HDD with a SSD on macbook pro. Before doing so, I cloned a copy of the existing HDD.

Just so we know. How did you do the cloning?

- Nick
 
OP
T
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
369
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Orange County, NY
Your Mac's Specs
iMac-21.5"(2017):OS Catalina 10.15.2 IOS13.3 iPhone 8+ iPadpro v2
I used Carbon Copy Cloner
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Have found over the years, cloning or migrating Office and some Adobe suites re-activation is usually necessary. I suspect this is to prevent illegal use of their software and I am not making any such suggestion. Just normal procedure tape.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
It's an anti-piracy thing by Microsoft. It sensed the new hard drive as different hardware and that will kick off the authentication wizard built in to the software. Versions of Mac Office prior to 2011 did not do that, in other words, they did not require authentication or activation. Just don't ever lose your Product Code. ;)
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Charlie Down Under certainly for Office 2008, and I think 2004 also, activation was always required, and when migrated. I had a copy purchased in Singapore which Microsoft Australia would not activate.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Not in the US Harry. Office 2004 and 2008 were serial number only and could be installed over and over again without activation. As a matter of fact the US EULA for Office 2008 stated that it could be installed on 3 desktops and 3 portables all belonging to the same household. My Office 2008 CD and jacket holder had three serial numbers on the back.

Office 2011 changed all that. Activation is required.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Ah well Charlie, Tom always told me you Texans were favoured by Microsoft lol!
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2013
Messages
5,084
Reaction score
789
Points
113
Location
Ohio (USA)
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
I had to upgrade a motherboard the other day. Changed out an i3 for an i7 processor. The hard drive was a dual boot of XP and WIndows 7 with Adobe Photoshop and Office 2007 and other software on it. I expected both OS's to throw a fit when I fired her back up. I was pleasantly surprised when both OS's didn't do anything. Office was fine as well as Photoshop. I had thought there would be problems and was ready for it. Must have been the prayers to the tech god and all the finger crossing. :)

LIsa
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top