Newbie here - battery related question

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Just bought a macbook air 2019 model and im trying to find out how to maintain my battery life. I know there are 1000s of online articles, forum posts etc but im really getting mixed answers/reviews...

From one reliable source i saw that we shuld unplug when its around 100%, then charge again when its 20-30%.. some other sources (websites) / users told me that i can just keep it plugged 24/7 and just need to drain the battery once or twice a month... so which one is true? If i keep it plugged in lets say 10-12 hours daily do you think that will affect the battery? i.e. heat up the battery etc?

Thanks
Chris

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PPC Mini, 10.4.11. Intel Mini, 10.6.8. MacBook Pro, 10.14.6. M1 MBA 11.6.3 iPhone 5 iOS 12.5,
My mid 2012 MBP is now just over 4 years old. It's on 24/7 and on charge for at least 20 hours a day. Its battery cycle count is 553 and it retains 80% of it's original charge capacity.

I also have a 2009 White MacBook that, again, is on 24/7 and on charge 24/7. Its cycle count is 977 and battery condition is 74% of original capacity. Those numbers haven't changed since it went on 24/7 operation two years ago.

It's designed to run on a battery, so just use it and don't worry. It's more likely that you'll decide it's time to get a new laptop before it needs a new battery.

This should tell you all to need to know:
How to keep your MacBook Pro battery healthy for years

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
It really depends on how you use your portable devices. If you're generally not near an electrical outlet...then you got to rely on the battery. If you are near an available electrical outlet much of the time...then it makes sense to be plugged in.:)

From one reliable source i saw that we should unplug when its around 100%, then charge again when its 20-30%...