Networking old Mac and new Mac - question

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

Newbie here, so 5hanks in advance for your help and patience.

My situation is that I recently upgraded to a new iMac for video editing. Very very pleased with it, bar one thing. Some of the apps I use are 32bit, and won’t now run on my shiny new iMac. This leads to frustrations! (And that’s not even getting started on my expensive printers that no 64bit drivers exist forj.

I currently have an old (2011) Mac mini just to use this software on, but I was wondering, if I were to network the 2 together, could I use the the apps on the new machine, just via the old one?

Hope the question makes sense!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to our forums.

I currently have an old (2011) Mac mini just to use this software on, but I was wondering, if I were to network the 2 together, could I use the the apps on the new machine, just via the old one?

They'll run fine on the 2011 Mini as long as it's not running Catalina. I take it that you would like to run those apps from the new iMac even though they're installed on the Mini and while booted from the new iMac networked to the Mini?

I don't off hand think that will work but I'm no expert when it comes to networking. Maybe someone else will have a better answer for you.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
I don't off hand think that will work but I'm no expert when it comes to networking. Maybe someone else will have a better answer for you.

I can't see how that would work, Network or not, as the software would need a compatible OS to run and would need to do so on it's own.

Once that is done, then one could possibly share the resulting produced file over the network, but depending on the software, it may be impossible if the Catalina Mac could even open such a file.