Mystified with Mission Control

Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
California Sierra Nevada
Hey all!

Not new to Mac but new to Lion.
Coming from an old iMac running 10.4.11 :Blushing:

What's the deal with Mission Control? How do I know when apps are running?
When I bring up MC-- via the icon in the dock or the F3 key-- it merely rearranges open windows. And only windows that are actually maximized. Minimized windows don't show. And I would hope that MC would show apps running where the windows have been closed, too. Something must be wrong... am I missing something?
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Mission Control is a combination of Spaces and Expose. Some do not like it as well as Expose but I find after using it a bit to be faster for me.

I do not remember Expose in Tiger showing minimized windows but it's been a while.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,946
Reaction score
583
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
And only windows that are actually maximized. Minimized windows don't show.

I do not remember Expose in Tiger showing minimized windows but it's been a while.
The only time Expose ever showed minimized windows was in SL and for some reason, Apple removed this (why?). I thought it was fantastic being able to view minimized windows.

The only 'solution' now is to right click an app and select "Show All Windows" in the context menu.
 
OP
FritzDaCat
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
California Sierra Nevada
Thanks for the replies!

I guess I am thinking more along the lines of "which apps are running?"
I thought that Mission Control might show me that somehow.

In my previous OS, there would be a small triangle in the dock under any app that was running-- whether or not there were any open windows. I guess Apple felt that that wasn't useful to anybody.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,946
Reaction score
583
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
They turned that off as well but you can turn on the glowing dot: System Preferences > Dock > check "Show indicator lights for open applications."
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
They turned that off as well but you can turn on the glowing dot: System Preferences > Dock > check "Show indicator lights for open applications."

Interesting thing about that is, I did total clean installs on a new partition for Lion and my dots are there under the apps in the dock and I never enabled it. I wonder what is up with that?

I did not migrate my settings from SL either. Just a brand new install.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,946
Reaction score
583
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Hmmm, I can't remember if I enabled it or not. If I had to enable it though, it would have been the second thing I did right after the "reverse scrolling." ;)
 
OP
FritzDaCat
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
California Sierra Nevada
They turned that off as well but you can turn on the glowing dot: System Preferences > Dock > check "Show indicator lights for open applications."

Now that's what I'm looking for.... thanks!
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Hmmm, I can't remember if I enabled it or not. If I had to enable it though, it would have been the second thing I did right after the "reverse scrolling." ;)

Agreed. I just remember people right before Lion came out saying no more lights under apps and was shocked when I installed it and saw the blue lights.

I am glad that is what the OP was looking for and he was helped!
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top