MediaFork only rips 1st chapter

Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Points
16
I'm trying to rip a DVD with media fork and for some reason its only ripping the first chapter of my DVD. I have the title file selected and all the chapters from 1 to 27.

Anyone else had this problem?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
394
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
2 GHz Black Intel Core Duo Macbook, 2 GB Ram, 100 GB HD, 60 GB black iPod Video, 8 GB iPhone
Some of the new "zero cell" DVDs from Sony are known to cause problems. Is your dvd made by Sony and newish?
 
OP
B
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Points
16
yeah, Sony, the DVD was 'Closer' So that may be the problem. Do you think mac the ripper will have the same problem?
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Yes, only it will spend an hour ripping before you find out it didn't work.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
23
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
sf.ca
Your Mac's Specs
2.33 GHz Core 2 Duo 17" MacBook Pro, 2GB RAM
is there any solution to this issue yet? i just bought a copy of casino royale (2007 release, sony), and EVERYTHING is failing to allow me to copy it for my digital media library.

what i've tried...

-> mactheripper
-> handbrake (the old version)
-> mediafork/handbrake (the new version)
-> 0se-x
-> fairmount
-> manually dragging each and every VOB (futile, i know)

i read elsewhere that the beta of mactheripper 3.0 won't handle sony dvds of any variety.

is sony shafting us from making backups or digital copies of our legally-owned DVD libraries?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
4,934
Reaction score
207
Points
63
Location
Anytown, USA
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 2.7GHz Core i5, iPhone 6, iPad Air 2, 4th gen Apple TV
Have you tried using Handbrake? I've used that a few times without any trouble, and I think it's free.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
394
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
2 GHz Black Intel Core Duo Macbook, 2 GB Ram, 100 GB HD, 60 GB black iPod Video, 8 GB iPhone
I heard that they're working on fixing this in the next version of Handbrake/Mediafork and MacTheRipper, but that's just what I heard, dunno if it's true.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
edit - deleted
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
23
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
sf.ca
Your Mac's Specs
2.33 GHz Core 2 Duo 17" MacBook Pro, 2GB RAM
update for anyone interested -- i've discovered that "casino royale" is the first of sony's new anti-piracy DVDs and is apparently "unable to be copied." i can appreciate that they're stopping people from pilfering netflix or something like that, but it makes it hard for those of us who actually invested the 20 bucks and want to put it on our computers. well. either way, that's what's what with sony and with "casino royale" specifically.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top