MBP too slow

Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
screenshot_01.jpg


hi i have problem with my mbp the loading of firefox is too slow any help

i am new to mac's
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
471
Reaction score
18
Points
18
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Your Mac's Specs
15" Unibody MBP 2.4 Ghz C2D, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, 320 GB Time Machine HDD, 1 TB Ext Media Drive
Where did you buy your memory upgrade from? That memory speed is not what shipped with the MBP, it should read 667 Mhz I believe. I would run a memory test on your machine (you can search the forums for a program on how to do this) to make sure that RAM is performing correctly.

Also, in general, I find Firefox to be dreadfully slow...I only use it to access sites that don't support Safari.
 
OP
M
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
thanks no this memory is extra i buy from a local computer shop
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
471
Reaction score
18
Points
18
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Your Mac's Specs
15" Unibody MBP 2.4 Ghz C2D, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, 320 GB Time Machine HDD, 1 TB Ext Media Drive
thanks no this memory is extra i buy from a local computer shop

Therein lies your problem. The Intel Macs use 667 Mhz RAM, the RAM you bought is too slow for the machine. You can continue using it, but you may run into problems like you are right now.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Well, you did slow your Mac down some with that memory.

I find most browsers open slow the first time after a re-boot: in the 5-10 second range. Once loaded into memory though, it should only take 1-3 seconds to load your home page depending on the site and your connection speed.

And if you don't care for Safari, you might give Opera a try.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Firefox here on my Imac is one of the slowest to load browsers I have used. It does it on ANY machine in the house. Once it's opened it's fine, but it takes the longest to launch on both PPC and Intel Macs here and I have most every browser installed that is available for OSX.

The other users are right though, if the RAM is supposed to be 667 and you are running 533, you might run into problems.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
471
Reaction score
18
Points
18
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Your Mac's Specs
15" Unibody MBP 2.4 Ghz C2D, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, 320 GB Time Machine HDD, 1 TB Ext Media Drive
what is the best memory brand / type for my mac

Take a trip over to crucial.com and use their memory finder. It will match the correct memory modules to your specific computer. Once you find out exactly what specs you need, you can buy from them or another site like Newegg.com or elsewhere.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
73
Points
48
Location
Cow Town, Alberta, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
PowerBook G4 15 inch 1.5 GHz, iMac
I think it's more about getting the right type for your Mac so you don't run in to any problems later in your MacLife. 667 MHz is what your MBP's designed to have.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
If the computer requires 667Mhz Ram You never put slower speed Ram in it. Sure some well designed Ram Chips will go higher than rated speed, but you are taking a chance.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
471
Reaction score
18
Points
18
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Your Mac's Specs
15" Unibody MBP 2.4 Ghz C2D, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, 320 GB Time Machine HDD, 1 TB Ext Media Drive
If the computer requires 667Mhz Ram You never put slower speed Ram in it. Sure some well designed Ram Chips will go higher than rated speed, but you are taking a chance.

The reasoning behind this is not that you might be able to find slower rated speed but higher performing RAM, but rather when you put in slower rated RAM, the system must slow down its bus speed to match the RAM....and this in turn slows down the whole computer.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top