Mbp 15 amatuer photographer

Reaction score
Hi all, new to the forum and looking for a little advice. I'm in the market for a laptop and I've been looking at the mbp 15. Trying to decide if it's neccesary to purchase the top model with the Radeon card. I'm an extreme amatuer photographer. I have a big interest in learning the trade and producing high quality photos and videos of my family. Down the road if it grows into something bigger, great. I want a machine that can easily handle the photo and video projects, again I'm an amatuer and far from professional, but I can see this becoming a quickly growing hobby/lifestyle.

My question is for my purposes would the top model of mbp 15 be overkill? Would the next model down starting at $1999 be sufficient. Don't want grey hair growing while waiting for things to finish rendering and such. Thanks in advance.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
My question is for my purposes would the top model of mbp 15 be overkill? Would the next model down starting at $1999 be sufficient. Don't want grey hair growing while waiting for things to finish rendering and such. Thanks in advance.

This is always a very difficult question to answer…not knowing EXACTLY how someone will be using it (I know you mentioned some details).

- When you go from the 13" MBP to the lower end 15" MBP…you get the quad-core CPU.
- Then when you go from the low-end 15" MBP to the higher-end 15" MBP…you get the dedicated GPU.

So even with the lower end 15" MBP…you're still doing better than the 13".:) But it really comes down to does your budget allow for the extra $500 for the higher end 15"??

Here's a MacWorld review of the previous model 15" MBP (with & without the dedicated GPU). It doesn't have any Photoshop specific benchmarks. But maybe some of the benchmarks there will help. This should help to see the relative differences between the current two 15" MBP models.