Making bootable USB for yosemite

Reaction score
I have read instructions to make the bootable USB and according to what I understand, I need to have the installer app in the application folder. I can’t find it there and my MacBook Air has different OS, I wonder if what installer should I get and where to find it? I am new to Mac and learning, please help, thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 16" 2023 (M3 Pro), iPhone 15 Pro, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMinis (multiple)
What model is the MacBookAir (MBA)? What version macOS is on it now? You cannot install on the MBA a version of the OS that is older than what originally came on the MBA.

You normally would download the installer from Apple. Typically, it ends up in the Applications folder, if it was downloaded as part of an upgrade/update from Apple. However, if you download it directly, not as part of the upgrade/update process, it goes to where you told it to go, or the default download location you may have set.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.
So apart from the questions above, can we assume you want to roll back your current Operating System to Yosemite?
The primary reason to create a Bootable macOS installer on a USB stick is to erase the Macintosh HD thereby allowing you to install an earlier macOS.
No, you will not find the macOS installer in your Applications Folder because it erases itself after use.
You must download a fresh copy from the App Store but you will not find it by searching on the App Store, you need a link as provided by ferrarr in post #3.
Lastly, but most importantly you must have a complete copy of all of your data to restore to the device after the "new" macOS is installed eg. a Time Machine backup.