MacPro 3,1 and Logic 9.1.8...ok?

Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Respected Forum Members,

Greetings to all.

I have a chance to buy a Mac Pro 3,1
Before i get into the specs, i think a bit of background info is in order.

I am primarily a 'home studio' recorder...meaning i compose, track, and mix my own music...(there are no other band members ! )

My rhythm guitar tracks are 4 in number. (100% right and left and 80% right and left)
My lead guitar tracks are two in number. (center)
My bass tracks are 3 in number (center DI /Dirt / Distort)
Drums: Superior Drummer /Metal Foundry.

The bass tracks utilize the 'Bass Amp' simulation of Logic.
Guitars are recorded via Fractal Axe-Fx Standard.
Hopefully i wont be using synths in future :)
I use a M-Audio Fast Track Pro as my interface.

The thing is, at times, especially during the mixing phase (and occasionally during tracking :shock: ), my MacBook starts throwing errors..(system overload).

I was on the look out for a desk top, when i came across this deal.
My understanding is that Logic 9 works better with quad core as opposed to dual core...is it correct?
Anyway the Specs of the MacPro are
1) MacPro 3,1
2) 2x2.8 Ghz Xeon
3) 3GB DDR2- FB DIMM memory

It has snow leopard..i do not intend to upgrade to Yosemite, nor do i intend to upgrade to Logic 10.

In the opinion of the forum members, is this a good buy for my recording purposes?
Thanks for taking the time to read this

regards
dinesh
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
...my MacBook starts throwing errors..(system overload).

Anyway the Specs of the MacPro are
1) MacPro 3,1
2) 2x2.8 Ghz Xeon
3) 3GB DDR2- FB DIMM memory

In the opinion of the forum members, is this a good buy for my recording purposes?

Depedning on the exact model MacBook you have...the Mac Pro should certainly do a better job than the MacBook.

By the way...from the specs you listed...the Mac Pro 3,1 looks like an 8-core not a quad-core.:)

- Nick
 
OP
D
Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Nick,
Thanks for the reply.

Will the fact that there is a DDR2 RAM be a hindrance, as opposed to DDR3 RAM?

dinesh
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
Will the fact that there is a DDR2 RAM be a hindrance, as opposed to DDR3 RAM?

Let's focus on the BIG stuff. If your current computer has 2 cores (MacBook)...and the Mac Pro has 8-cores...that's WAYYYY more of a difference than DDR2 vs. DDR3 ram!:)

It would be nice to know exactly what MacBook model you are currently working with...so we can have a conversation where all of us know what we are talking about (I don't know what you have).:)

- Nick
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
22
Points
38
Location
Agusan del Norte, Philippines
Your Mac's Specs
L2012 Mini, i7 2.6Ghz, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD + 1TB HDD(fusion), BenQ 32" 2.5k QHD Display
Respected Forum Members,

Greetings to all.

I have a chance to buy a Mac Pro 3,1
Before i get into the specs, i think a bit of background info is in order.

I am primarily a 'home studio' recorder...meaning i compose, track, and mix my own music...(there are no other band members ! )

My rhythm guitar tracks are 4 in number. (100% right and left and 80% right and left)
My lead guitar tracks are two in number. (center)
My bass tracks are 3 in number (center DI /Dirt / Distort)
Drums: Superior Drummer /Metal Foundry.

The bass tracks utilize the 'Bass Amp' simulation of Logic.
Guitars are recorded via Fractal Axe-Fx Standard.
Hopefully i wont be using synths in future :)
I use a M-Audio Fast Track Pro as my interface.

The thing is, at times, especially during the mixing phase (and occasionally during tracking :shock: ), my MacBook starts throwing errors..(system overload).

I was on the look out for a desk top, when i came across this deal.
My understanding is that Logic 9 works better with quad core as opposed to dual core...is it correct?
Anyway the Specs of the MacPro are
1) MacPro 3,1
2) 2x2.8 Ghz Xeon
3) 3GB DDR2- FB DIMM memory

It has snow leopard..i do not intend to upgrade to Yosemite, nor do i intend to upgrade to Logic 10.

In the opinion of the forum members, is this a good buy for my recording purposes?
Thanks for taking the time to read this

regards
dinesh

I have recorded quiet a bit of audio on the computer in my days..

IMHO, the CPU's in that system are overkill, which is a good thing.
RAM speed wise is perfectly fine, not a huge difference in DDR2 to DDR3 for what your doing. However, I recommend seeing if you can bump that system up to 8GB. More RAM in your case is better then its over all speed.
Last thing is Drive speed. RAM and Drive speed is most important in recording audio. This is likely why your MBP was giving you fits.. You want large FAST drives. I recommend getting the fastest 7200RPM or 10,000RPM drives you can afford from Western Digital or who ever your trust and putting them into a stripped array (fake RAID, RAID 0). Two 2TB 7200 Drives would perform nicely and get you 4TB total storage and about 200MB/S speed on your reads and writes..

Hope this helps..
 
OP
D
Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Nick,
apologies :)

The MacBook Pro Specs are:
13 inch Mid 2010
MacBook Pro 7,1
Intel Core 2 duo 2.4Ghz.

Exodist, thanks for the tips.
regards
dinesh
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
The MacBook Pro Specs are:
13 inch Mid 2010
MacBook Pro 7,1
Intel Core 2 duo 2.4Ghz.

Thanks for the specs.:) One thing missing was how much ram it has.

Bottom line…an 8-core Mac Pro 3,1 will definitely give you a big boost in performance for your music activities. Like mentioned above…the Mac Pro you are looking at should be upgraded to at least 8gig of ram. More if you can afford it.

The only last question to ask is…how much is the person asking for the Mac Pro. You don't want to over pay if you are deciding to get it.;)

- Nick
 
OP
D
Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Nick,

My MBP has only 4GB RAM.
In your opinion, what is the ball park figure i should ask the seller?
He's at present , set the price at $ 2400 , which i think is too much.

A quick search shows, that early 2008 models go for around less than $900.
I had checked out the system yesterday, and it seems up to speed.

dinesh
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
In your opinion, what is the ball park figure i should ask the seller?
He's at present , set the price at $ 2400 , which i think is too much.

If this is indeed a Mac Pro 3,1...the dude selling it is smoking some SERIOUS weed!!!;)

A quick search shows, that early 2008 models go for around less than $900.
I had checked out the system yesterday, and it seems up to speed.

I was helping someone else out with a Mac Pro 3,1 purchase a couple months ago...and eBay U.S. prices then...a nicely configured Mac Pro 3,1 could be had for $450-$500!:) When I say "nicely configured"...I mean better than the one you listed.

- Nick
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
22
Points
38
Location
Agusan del Norte, Philippines
Your Mac's Specs
L2012 Mini, i7 2.6Ghz, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD + 1TB HDD(fusion), BenQ 32" 2.5k QHD Display
EXACTLY !!
Anyways i've kept that deal in 'cold storage' !

am still searching

OMG 2400! I would put that deal in a coffin and burry it..
For music editing the 2.7Ghz i5 Quad Core 21" iMac upgraded to the 1TB fusion drive will work GREAT for music editing at only $1499.

That said, since the RAM isn't upgrade friendly.. I would push for 16GB RAM putting the price at $1699. Still a great system. Its Small, quiet and fast.. Just what you want for music editing.

Specs:
21.5" Model (1920 x 1080 resolution)
2.7Ghz i5 QuadCore, 4MB L3 Cache (turbo boost up to 3.2Ghz)
1TB Fusion Drive
16GB DDR3 DRAM
Intel Iris Pro (HD 5200) iGPU Graphics
Wireless KB and Magic Mouse
Bluetooth 4.0
USB 3.0
2x mDisplay (thunderbolt) ports
802.11ac Wireless
SDXC Card Slot
1000BaseT Network card

$1699.00

More then enough power for music production..
 
OP
D
Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Friends,
Hope all is well.
Just an update.
Was able to purchase a MacPro 5,1 (2.8Ghz)

It works like a dream
thank you guys !!
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top