macbook pro new ssd install

Reaction score
Hi,

as a newbie I have a question about installing snow leopard o/s on to a brand new SSD.

I am considering buying a Macbook Pro on ebay and have seen several with faulty or no Hard drives.

What do I need to do to install the operating system on the blank SSD?

It is just a matter of buying the relevant install DVD's?

thanks.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Assuming you know what you are doing and need Snow Leopard, you can grab a copy of it here.

OP
T
Reaction score
Hi,
thanks for the advice.
Having watched the youtube video it assumes you have a fully working macbook and can go on line etc.
In my case I am looking at dipping my toe in the water with a cheap used macbook that comes without a hard drive and loading the operating system via DVD only.
So I wont be able to go on line and follow the initial instructions.
If this is a silly idea please tell me and I will not be offended, honestly.
Can you load an operating system from scratch on a macbook that comes without the existing hard drive or any hard drive at all, or is this not allowed?
thanks.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Two questions:

1. Please answer the question above regarding needing to install Snow Leopard.
2. Let us know exactly what model MacBook or MacBook Pro this is.

Can you load an operating system from scratch on a macbook that comes without the existing hard drive or any hard drive at all...

Yes it is possible...but can't answer this question for sure without knowing answers to the questions.

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro