Mac Nebie

F

fraites_25

Hello
I am a mac newbie I am looking to purchase a used mac g4 but I want to make sure that I am not buying something that I can't upgrade to do what I need it to do I working for a video company doing some video editing. I need this mac to run final cut pro or express. can you give me some advice

SPECIFICATIONS:

CPU: 500 MHz PPC G4

BUS: 100 MHz.

L2 CACHE: 1 MB.

RAM: 512 MB using four unbuffered 128 PC100 SDRAM, expandable to 1.5 GB in 4 DIMM slots.

AV CARD: none

VRAM: 16 MB

VIDEO: Video: ATI Rage 128 Pro in AGP 2X slot (was Rage 128 prior to December 1999); supports resolutions to 1600x1200 with 32-bit support, VGA connector, and digital video output for Cinema Display.

L2 CACHE: 1 MB 2:1 backside cache

HARD DRIVE: 27 GB 7200 rpm Ultra ATA/66

ZIP DRIVE: Internal 100 MB

FLOPPY DRIVE: none.

DVD-RAM

CONNECTIONS: 4 PCI slots (3 are 64-bit, one is 66 MHz; 66 MHz slot used for video card) * two 400 Mbps FireWire ports * two 12 Mbps USB ports for keyboard, mouse, and peripherals * one ADB port * 10/100Base-T Ethernet connector on back of computer.

Can I make this work for what I want it to do

:eek: Casey

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G5 2ghz Dual Processor, 12" Scrolling TrackPad Powerbook
Those specs don't sound too promising. The processor could be upgraded, but considdering the low spec RAM the machine is configured to use, it wouldn't really be worth it. If you're a patient man, then by all means go for it.

Ideally you should be looking at the minimum, before upgrade, of:

800 MHz PPC G4
512 MB PC2700 DDR SDRAM
Video card with at least 64 MB VRAM
Firewire 400 port (standard DV Cam)
USB