Mac mini blurry screen

Reaction score
Hi,

I was using a mac mini with my LG plasma and the image was perfect. I've just moved countries and I'm now using an LCD TV and when I connected my mac mini, the image is horrible. very blurry, text is hard to read. No options in the TV fix it. I work as a designer so it's really a problem. Im connecting using HDMI to HDMI. I think its possible to connect to the tv using the thunderbolt port. If so, would this rectify the problem? would I just need a HDMI to thunderbolt adapter?

Thanks so much! :)

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
What sort of resolution is the LCD TV...and what resolution is set on the Mac-Mini? My guess is the resolution of the LCD TV and the resolution setting of the Mini may not be set to the most optimal. And...the resolution of the former plasma TV and the current LCD TV are different...thus you may not be able to achieve the results.

- Nick

OP
T
Reaction score
Hi, the tv is set at 1080p as well as the Mac mini. That’s the setting when On auto detect. I also tried 1080i and 720. Both bad results.
The tv has a vga port. Do you know if this would produce a sharp image?
Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
I was using a mac mini with my LG plasma and the image was perfect. I've just moved countries and I'm now using an LCD TV and when I connected my mac mini, the image is horrible.

You have not supplied many useful specs such as models and OS X version being used.

But maybe this relates:
macOS Sierra: If screen text looks blurry or jagged
https://support.apple.com/kb/PH25302?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

And lots of other possible useful hits from here:
https://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=mac+LCD+TV+blurry&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8