Just got a PowerPC and I have a few questions.

Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
No VA
Your Mac's Specs
PowerPC G5 2.0GHZ Dual 4g RAM
Hello. I just got a used PowerPC G5 Dual Core 2.0GHZ with 4 GB RAM. It has OSX 10.4.11. I really don't know much about Macs I've been looking at them for a while trying to decide if I should make the move. I use Pro Tools LE 8.0 on my PC set up and don't really run into any issues until I get up to like 17 tracks or so with Plugins. My PC only has 2 gigs of RAM, so I figured before I spent close to 3 grand on an iMac I'd check out this G5 to see if I even like the work flow. It only cost me $400 so what's the risk.

The fist thing I noticed is, I cannot use Pro Tools 8.0 because it is not OSX 10.5. Not a big deal. I called BestBuy and was told just update it to 10.6 (Snow Leopard). I went and bought the disc and NOPE! It wouldn't work because the machine is not Intel based.

Still not a big deal I just loaded my Pro Tools LE 7.4 and all is good.

Now, to run Pro Tools 8.0, I need OSX 10.5. Now I found OSX 10.5 but for some reason it is $185 verses $30 for Snow Leopard. Am I missing something there. Why is the older so much more expensive? Will Leopard work on a non-Intel based Power PC?

Next, I wanted to get a wireless keyboard and mouse instead of the wired one it came with. While in line a BestBuy, I noticed that the wireless keyboard and the Magic Mouse both say for OSX 10.5. In my PC world I wouldn't have let that bother me, because I can normally get things to work. Besides, most Windows stuff will work on machines all the way back to 2000 or so.

That does not appear to be the case with Macs. Am I right?

So far the speed of the machine is fine, but can I no longer get accessories for it?

Thanks for reading such a long post.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
No you are missing nothing that is the price to encourage us all not top drug our feet shuffling over to Intel, which I for one shall not be doing. Just buy the Leopard disc and you will be fine.

Or stay with your pc world. Simple.
 
OP
B
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
No VA
Your Mac's Specs
PowerPC G5 2.0GHZ Dual 4g RAM
Or stay with your pc world. Simple.

LOL. That might have come out wrong. I didn't offend you did I? That was not my intention. I say that out of habit, because I'm not giving up my PC but I will add a Mac if I like it. I just need to keep things in order in my head. In PC world "Ctrl" and "Start/Windows" button. In Mac world "Command" and "Apple". My kids will ask how to do something and I need to know in what world there are dealing. Thanks for the reply.
 
OP
B
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
No VA
Your Mac's Specs
PowerPC G5 2.0GHZ Dual 4g RAM
I just read in another post that some OX 10.5 applications will work with OS 10.4.11. Does anyone know ith the wireless keyboard and mouse will work? Anyone using them with Tiger 4.11?

Also, it seems like I need to get the G5 out of the corner and try to get as much air as possible to it. It seems like I am reading about some cooling issues.

If I put in on the floor in the open that seems better, but is the carpet an issue with the heat?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2009
Messages
126
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Illinois
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac, 3.06GHz duo, 4GB RAM, 500GB Hard Drive, NVIDIA 9400M| 8GB iPod Touch
Unless there's bluetooth in the g5, the wireless keyboard/magic mouse won't work. but if there's a bluetooth symbol in the menu bar, the machine has bluetooth components and you should be good to go.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
No you did not offend me and it was a serious suggestion.

Some folk have troubles accepting the differences between pc and macs but I use both a Mac and a Dell Latitude. Wireless keyboard and mouse sure worked for me when in Tiger. Be aware you do need a Bluetooth/Airport wireless combo card in Dual Cores and they are rare and dear. Purchased mine from LA and had local Down Under Mac dealer install all up about $350.00 all up.

If you do not wish to spend that much at this stage the KB and mouse will work with a USB2 D-Link 120 dongle.

Suggest you open the G5 up, remove air vent and fan and give it a good clean out as they are real dust accumulators. Carpet will be no problem apart from dust. Built a 10" high box for mine to stand on and have had no problems whatsoever.

Here is a G5 Dual Core manual. Make sure you actually have a Dual Core, they use DDR2 memory and have PCIE graphics and slots:-

http://support.apple.com/manuals/#late 2005 manual
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
1,466
Reaction score
47
Points
48
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 15" MacBook Pro OS X 10.7.x & some old Macs
Now I found OSX 10.5 but for some reason it is $185 verses $30 for Snow Leopard. Am I missing something there. Why is the older so much more expensive? Will Leopard work on a non-Intel based Power PC?
Snow Leopard is more of an updated version of Leopard hence the name Snow Leopard. Major OS upgrades have always been named a different animal. Usually major OS upgrades are around $129 and originally the $29 Snow Leopard was suppose to be only for people who had 10.5 Leopard already installed so it was more of an upgrade pricing versus full version retail pricing but Apple later officially stated that everyone was able to upgrade to Snow Leopard with the $29 version. Apple does seem to want everyone to upgrade to Snow Leopard which is why they decided to stay with the $29 pricing. I doubt they will keep this price for the new major OS update which is 10.7 (don't know the animal name ;)) but one can hope.

Next, I wanted to get a wireless keyboard and mouse instead of the wired one it came with. While in line a BestBuy, I noticed that the wireless keyboard and the Magic Mouse both say for OSX 10.5.
I don't have either so I can't really say, but I believe part of that is because the older Macs didn't have Bluetooth. All the new Macs have Bluetooth now.

So far the speed of the machine is fine, but can I no longer get accessories for it?
You can still get accessories. The Bluetooth problem is a little more unique. My old backup PowerBook laptop which is about 6 years old can still use a lot of accessories. The hardware manufacturer just needs to provide the software drivers for your current OS. Some manufacturers are better about it than others.

Thanks for reading such a long post.
I'm tired now...I think I need a break. ;) Welcome to the forums by the way...
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
10,345
Reaction score
597
Points
113
Location
Margaritaville
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
Leopard Retail is $129. If someone is selling it for $185 they are ripping you off. Look on E-Bay or Craigs List and you will find it for less than $100 (Leopard will work fine on your machine and you can update to 10.5.8). The $29 Snow Leopard disc is simply an upgrade disc NOT a full system installation disc. Intel users have to have loaded 10.5 and then purchased 10.6 to get there OR just bought a new machine with 10.6. Upgrade tp 10.5 and the wireless keyboard and mouse will work fine, as will pretty much all other accessories. If it says 10.5, it needs 10.5.

Oh, and STOP calling Best Buy for anything. Their Mac service absolutely blows and they are about as clueless about them as a dead houseplant. Find a knowledgeable Mac dealer in your area, go to an Apple store or ask here. Using the words "Best Buy" in any reasonable Mac discussion will get you laughed off the board.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
1,466
Reaction score
47
Points
48
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 15" MacBook Pro OS X 10.7.x & some old Macs
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
10,345
Reaction score
597
Points
113
Location
Margaritaville
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
I'd be interested to try that before I believe it....
 
OP
B
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
No VA
Your Mac's Specs
PowerPC G5 2.0GHZ Dual 4g RAM
Got it! No more BestBuy! I did see a Bluetooth Icon when I was exploring in the folders. I also saw this on the back of my machine:
G5Back.jpg


What are the top two for? Antennas?
How can I tell what year my machine was manufactured?

Thanks for the link to the manual. I will spend my weekend getting better acquainted.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
The very top plug is for Airport (WiFi Antenna) and the one under it is Bluetooth. That does not mean either are installed in your machine. In OSX do you see a Airport and/or Bluetooth icon by the clock up top?

Those antennas usually shipped with the PowerMac G5 and looked like a T sticking out of the back of the machine.

If you click on the Apple in the Top Left corner of the screen and on About This Mac. Then click on More Info. Look for Bluetooth. What does it say there?
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
What are the top two for? Antennas?
How can I tell what year my machine was manufactured?

Like "dtravis7" mentioned...the top most port is for the Airport antenna. Without the Airport antenna you will get very poor or no Airport reception. So if you have no Airport antenna...no wireless networking. Of course the ethernet port will work just fine.

Here's what the airport antenna for a Powermac G5 looks like:

apple%20airport%20antenna.jpg
250


They seem to sell in the $20-$30 dollar range. if you need one...maybe you'll get lucky & find one for less!:)

Hope this helps,

- Nick
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Pigoo. Thanks for those pics. I was about to look for one and now do not have to.

To the OP please check where I said above and report back.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
OP
B
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
No VA
Your Mac's Specs
PowerPC G5 2.0GHZ Dual 4g RAM
Just looked and when I clicked Bluetooth it said no info. I clicked on bluetooth file transfer and it said I needed a bluetooth module. So no Bluetooth. Not a big deal. The place I was going to put the G5 has changed since reading about the cooling issues. Where I have decided to put it, I no longer need wireless. its right next to me. Thanks for all the info. I did see this under disc burning though:

PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-108:
DVD-Write: -R, -RW, +R, +RW, +R DL

If I am correct, I can use dual layer discs right?

In response to an earlier post, yes it uses DDR SDRAM.

About this Mac states:
Mac OS X Version 10.4.11
Processor Dual 2 GHz PowerPC G5
Memory 4 GB DDR SDRAM

Thanks for the info.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
I have a feeling you have the newer Dual Core 2.0Ghz G5. Those have a Combo Airport/Bluetooth card. It's usually quite expensive on Ebay or anywhere else.

The +R DL says it will burn +R Dual Layer DVD's.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
81
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Location
Surrey/Hants border UK
Your Mac's Specs
"Cypher" Powermac G5 2.3 DualCore QuadroFX4500 23" cinema display
hmmmm i think he's got a dual processor machine rather than a dual core!

the dual core machine has a built in airport/bluetooth ariel in the rear of the casing. yes you will need (like mentioned earlier) the combo card & the runway card. these parts are all readily available on ebay or other specialist sites


as a side note.
i bought a runway card off ebay for about £40 thinking they were no longer available, but later found they are still listed on Apple GSX for about £12! obviously joe public cannot buy parts direct from apple but these third party sellers are really pulling our trousers down over this!

it would be a great help if we could work out exactly which model you have ;D
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
I also think a DP and not a Dual Core as it should be DDR2 memory for a Dual Core. If so an ordinary bluetooth combo card may do the job.
 
C

chas_m

Guest
Hello. I just got a used PowerPC G5 Dual Core 2.0GHZ with 4 GB RAM. It has OSX 10.4.11.

There are several "bullet points" you should note in your post:

a) The machine you got is nearly six years old. Despite this, adding Leopard to it will bring it up to roughly modern specs. I can't say, but my guess would be trying to do the same thing with a six-year-old PC would be less successful. So be aware of the bar you are comparing it to.

I really don't know much about Macs I've been looking at them for a while trying to decide if I should make the move.

b) personally if I had been you, I would have walked into any Apple Retail store, asked them for a demo on the "Music Mac" and played with Pro Tools or Logic et al on that machine. You know, something made recently. Yes, the G5 isn't exactly dead and, running Leopard, should give you a general feel for the current experience -- but since you want to run current pro-level software, honestly the place to research this fairly is on current, pro-level machines.

I called BestBuy

c) Best Buy having told you to buy a copy of Snow Leopard when it only runs on Intel Macs should have told you everything you need to know about dealing with them, and it seems you have clued in, but here it is again: talking to Best Buy about Mac is like talking java programming with an Amish farmer.

Now I found OSX 10.5 but for some reason it is $185 verses $30 for Snow Leopard. Am I missing something there. Why is the older so much more expensive? Will Leopard work on a non-Intel based Power PC?

Assuming it is a RETAIL copy of Leopard, yes. And the reason its more expensive has been explained above, but yeah most major OS updates are $129 (they come out every two years or so). Don't pay $185 for Leopard.

The reason Apple gave us a huge break on Snow Leopard is really twofold:
1. It's not "new feature" heavy, it's more of a tightening up and tuning up of Leopard for Intel Macs.
2. Apple really, REALLY wants the entire Mac base on Intel machines as quickly as possible.


So far the speed of the machine is fine, but can I no longer get accessories for it?

They're still plenty of accessories for it, but yeah again almost six years old ... the accessories market for any machine that old is bound to be shrinking.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top