is it possible that more RAM has slowed down my iMac

Joined
Nov 19, 2011
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5-inch 2011. 2.5 GHz Intel Quad core i5, 12GB RAM, Lion 10.7.2
Hey there guys, im new to the Forum so im sorry if i have put this thread in the wrong section. i own a 2011 21.5-inch iMac (2.5GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5
1920 x 1080 resolution
4GB (two 2GB) memory
500GB hard drive1
AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 512MB) while browsing Amazon i came across some 'Crucial' memory upgrades, i ordered 8gb (2x4gb) which arrived quickly and i installed with out a proplem. how ever. now my imac feels slower and less responsive, i have no actually way of testing speed (that i know of) just wondering if this is actually possible, can more ram make your mac slower??
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
7,163
Reaction score
275
Points
83
Location
UK
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
Was it definately DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 (non-ECC) ?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
If he purchased it from Crucial it was probably the correct modules provided he used the Crucial memory updater.

To the OP:

The two new 4 GB modules.... which slot did you put them in, upper or lower bank? The larger modules should go in the upper bank which means removing the two smaller modules and moving them to the lower bank.
 
OP
c0tcha
Joined
Nov 19, 2011
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5-inch 2011. 2.5 GHz Intel Quad core i5, 12GB RAM, Lion 10.7.2
Thanks for your replies. I didn't remove the smaller modules from the upper bank, I just placed them in the lower. I didn't realise that would actually make a difference? I shall do that right now and let you know if it has any affect.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Give that a try but be careful removing the smaller modules. The slots in the banks on an iMac are very tight. Let us know if it makes a difference. Also allow the machine to reboot several times to build up the caches.
 
OP
c0tcha
Joined
Nov 19, 2011
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5-inch 2011. 2.5 GHz Intel Quad core i5, 12GB RAM, Lion 10.7.2
lol ok. well I cant actually get them back out :p I dont wanna try using pliers. but I think thats the only way i'm going to get them out, they really are tight hahaha
 
OP
c0tcha
Joined
Nov 19, 2011
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5-inch 2011. 2.5 GHz Intel Quad core i5, 12GB RAM, Lion 10.7.2
Right. managed to remove them with a small pair of modelling pliers. Swapped them over (after scratching one of the 2gb's chip. it seems to be working fine.... thankfully) and it does actually appear to be running better. not sure if its a placebo or not but lets hope that has 'fixed' it. Also i hope that my slightly damaged ram chip doesn't break in a few days (guess i should count myself lucky it wasnt one of the 4gb chips :( thanks again
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
OK, great. Glad to hear you got them out with breaking anything. By the way, there used to be a small tool available for removing memory modules. I haven't seen one around for awhile and I guess it's because the size and shape of the various modules have changed over the years.

What is useful to remove modules (and this might sound odd) is a small set of rubber tipped forceps that lock. You actually need two of them. Lock on to the left and right side of the module and gently rock them up and down like a see-saw and that gets them out without damage.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2010
Messages
472
Reaction score
15
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
21.5 iMac 3.06 ghz 12gb ram 500g HD iPad 2 16G
There is a small black plastic "tab" that is just underneath the memory sticks...you need to pull on that tab to properly remove the memory from an iMac...fwiw...
 
OP
c0tcha
Joined
Nov 19, 2011
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5-inch 2011. 2.5 GHz Intel Quad core i5, 12GB RAM, Lion 10.7.2
I did think that codda. cos its the same tab system to remove the battery on the iphone 4. however i was a little reluctant to tug really hard to see if it did remove it because when i tried that with my iPhone 4 i snapped the tab :p
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
There is a small black plastic "tab" that is just underneath the memory sticks...you need to pull on that tab to properly remove the memory from an iMac...fwiw...

On the newer iMacs the slots are so tight (don't know why) the tab doesn't work like it should. And there is a chance it will snap. The module tabs work fine on the new MB and MBP though.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top