Is buying an Intel màc still worth it?

Reaction score
I'm thinking of buying a MacBook pro 16inch, i7 (9th gen), 32GB RAM, 1tb ssd, touch bar, for $1800. Is this worth it or should I wait to by the M1 version (which is way more expensive)?

Also I'm an IoT developer is working with arduino, raspberry pi, aws and other things gonna be a problem with the M1?

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
That Intel-based machine will definitely be fine for what you need to do. But the M1 Pro/Max based MBP will be a better performer across the board. Additionally, do NOT think about the initial price of the machine but rather divide it by how you intend to keep it.

If you're going to be upgrading your machine in a couple of years, it makes no sense to spend $3500 for a machine now, go with the $1800 machine and try to sell it in a couple of years for $800 or something and recoup some of the costs. If you're going to keep the machine for say a decade or so, that's $350 per year.

Additionally, if you DO decide to sell the machine in a couple of years, you'll get way more for the newer M1 based machine than the i7 based machine since most people will want to upgrade from their failing intel based Macs to the ARM based ones only.

Rasberry use ARM-based processors, so technically you're in greater alignment there. Arduino uses a RISC based processor, but that doesn't really matter between using an Intel or M1 based Mac.

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.