• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

I think I've been hit with malware.

krs


Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
1,740
Reaction score
42
Points
48
Location
Canada
The problem not seeing post #16 maybe the ads that are stuck at the beginning and end of post #16; most annoying having ads in the middle of a post.

But I suppose certain ad blockers will end up blocking the message in the post as well when they block two ads in the same post.

Just an educated guess......
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,058
Reaction score
155
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
I think the issue of seeing the post is that it is the first on page 2, which doesn't show unless you refresh the browser, or go away and come back to the site fresh. hoody got an email saying what I posted, but it probably didn't show up on his browser because it hadn't been refreshed.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,136
Reaction score
702
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac late 2012 21.5 i5 10:14. iMac 2010 27"QuadI7 OS10.13, MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhone7
I just disabled my Ad blocker and there is an Ad before and right after Jakes post all within the Red bars between the posts!

KRS is correct.
 
Last edited:

krs


Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
1,740
Reaction score
42
Points
48
Location
Canada
I think the issue of seeing the post is that it is the first on page 2, which doesn't show unless you refresh the browser, or go away and come back to the site fresh. hoody got an email saying what I posted, but it probably didn't show up on his browser because it hadn't been refreshed.
Sorry Jake, but that doesn't make any sense to me.
Why would you think one can't see the first post on page 2 without refreshing the browser?
I never refresh my browser (unless it does it itself when I download an upissue) and I have never had a problem with a post not showing up.
Easy enough if a post is "missing" since they are all nicely numbered.

I would suggest hoody should disable the ad blocker (if he has one) to see if my "guess" is right.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,136
Reaction score
702
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac late 2012 21.5 i5 10:14. iMac 2010 27"QuadI7 OS10.13, MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhone7
Sorry Jake, but that doesn't make any sense to me.
Why would you think one can't see the first post on page 2 without refreshing the browser?
I never refresh my browser (unless it does it itself when I download an upissue) and I have never had a problem with a post not showing up.
Easy enough if a post is "missing" since they are all nicely numbered.

I would suggest hoody should disable the ad blocker (if he has one) to see if my "guess" is right.
Read my post above your last one. You are very correct.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
314
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Bribie Island Qld Australia.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, 21.5",OSX, Mojave Late 2012. Processor 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5. Memory now has 16GB. + macbook
:[ Most embarrased to say I didn't notice that we'd gone to page two. Sorry about that. Anyway, I've booked it in the Apple store at Chermside in Brisbane. While I was at it I made the appointment for the iMac as well, which is taking ages to start up. I can see this costing a bit, but I figured that since we've had these two they've cost us nothing (2012 for the iMac & 2014 for the macbook) as opposed to a friend who's had two win desktops and a win laptop in the same time. It'll be a hit for an age pensioner, but we'll just have to go without food for a few weeks. ;)
Nearly forgot to say thanks again for taking the trouble to help.
 
Last edited:

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,478
Reaction score
759
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
I just disabled my Ad blocker and there is an Ad before and right after Jakes post all within the Red bars between the posts!
@Dennis:

You aren't supposed to see any ads with or without an ad blocker. Something's not working right or it has been changed. Staff and Premium Members aren't supposed to see ads - remember?

I also noticed that when I use my iPad. The iOS version that appears using Safari is loaded with ads that partially block some of the content. And an iOS ad blocker seems to have no effect at all.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,136
Reaction score
702
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac late 2012 21.5 i5 10:14. iMac 2010 27"QuadI7 OS10.13, MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhone7
@Dennis:

You aren't supposed to see any ads with or without an ad blocker. Something's not working right or it has been changed. Staff and Premium Members aren't supposed to see ads - remember?

I also noticed that when I use my iPad. The iOS version that appears using Safari is loaded with ads that partially block some of the content. And an iOS ad blocker seems to have no effect at all.

Strange for sure. I really never thought about staff and ads but that makes sense. If I turn off Ad Blocker I see all of the ads in Safari, Firefox or Chrome.
 

Rod


Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
5,945
Reaction score
182
Points
63
Location
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2015 MacBook Pro Retina 13" macOSX 10.15.1
I think I'd delete them all and I notice a MacKeeper file. I'd certainly delete that and anything related to that app. If you have a MacKeeper folder there should be an uninstall option. It could be the cause of some of your problems.


Sent from my iPhone
 
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
7,853
Reaction score
143
Points
63
Location
13th state, U.S.A.
Your Mac's Specs
iPhone 11 iOS 13, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iPadOS 13, Late 2014 Mac Mini macOS 10.15
@Dennis:

You aren't supposed to see any ads with or without an ad blocker. Something's not working right or it has been changed. Staff and Premium Members aren't supposed to see ads - remember?

I also noticed that when I use my iPad. The iOS version that appears using Safari is loaded with ads that partially block some of the content. And an iOS ad blocker seems to have no effect at all.
I have 2 content blockers that block ads on my iPad Pro, Adblock and Firefox Focus, and they seem to keep ads off the site in Safari.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
13,238
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
You aren't supposed to see any ads with or without an ad blocker.

FWIW, just as Charlie says, I don't see any ads on these pages using Google Chrome with Adblock extension, whether it's enabled/disabled or refreshed or not, and I'm just a regular member.

PS: Odd, but I'm sure they used to show, sometime ago.



- Patrick
======
 
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
7,853
Reaction score
143
Points
63
Location
13th state, U.S.A.
Your Mac's Specs
iPhone 11 iOS 13, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iPadOS 13, Late 2014 Mac Mini macOS 10.15
What macOS and browser versions?

I do not get any ads with macOS 10.14 and Safari 12. I do have Ghostery and AdBlock extensions installed.
 

krs


Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
1,740
Reaction score
42
Points
48
Location
Canada
FWIW, just as Charlie says, I don't see any ads on these pages using Google Chrome with Adblock extension, whether it's enabled/disabled or refreshed or not, and I'm just a regular member.
You must have some adblocking software installed with Chrome somehow.

I normally don't use Chrome, but when I look at the forum now with Chrome, I get more area of my monitor screen taken up with ads than with the forum posts.
Chrome in that sense is worse than Firefox.
Screen shot of what I see with Chrome is below

MacForums ads.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
13,238
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
You must have some adblocking software installed with Chrome somehow.

Yes, I have Chrome Adblock plugin installed, but even with it disabled, I see no ads:

Now for some odd reason I can't add the screenshots I just took. Very strange!!
Nothing happens when I click the 'Insert Image' icon.

I sure don't see any of the ads that krs shows.


- Patrick
======
 

krs


Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
1,740
Reaction score
42
Points
48
Location
Canada
This is what I see with Firefox.

Good thing I have a relatively large, 24-inch 10 x 16 screen or I would have to scroll to even read one post (can't add a grin icon even though they show on the right)

MacForum Firefox.jpg
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,058
Reaction score
155
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
krs I can't quote your post for some reason, but you said:
Sorry Jake, but that doesn't make any sense to me.
Why would you think one can't see the first post on page 2 without refreshing the browser?
I never refresh my browser (unless it does it itself when I download an upissue) and I have never had a problem with a post not showing up.
hoody, in post #26, says he didn't realize there was a page 2, which is what I was trying to suggest. Sometimes the website doesn't show page 2 until you refresh the page, or leave and come back. So I hope that makes sense now.

As for the ads, I can't explain them, but I do see them. Neither covers up my text, as far as I can see, but they are distracting. The website is having "adventures" recently, including at this very minute about half of the emojis showing as blanks and no menu for uploading images or editing posts, either. So there are definitely strange things going on.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
13,238
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
krs I can't quote your post for some reason,...
...
The website is having "adventures" recently, including at this very minute about half of the emojis showing as blanks and no menu for uploading images or editing posts, either. So there are definitely strange things going on.

It seems I can use the quote thing, but no way will my "Insert Image" icon do anything, and the "Restore auto-saved content" message box won't disappear from this thread and I wonder if they are among the "strange things going on".


- Patrick
======
 

krs


Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
1,740
Reaction score
42
Points
48
Location
Canada
krs I can't quote your post for some reason, but you said:
hoody, in post #26, says he didn't realize there was a page 2, which is what I was trying to suggest. Sometimes the website doesn't show page 2 until you refresh the page, or leave and come back. So I hope that makes sense now.
Yes, I see what you mean.
Happened to me too - not that I had to leave the page or refresh the browser (which is what I was questioning), but that I didn't realize there was another page to a thread.
The page was always there, I just didn't think to look and click on the next page number and wrongly assumed I was at the end of the thread.

As for the ads, I can't explain them, but I do see them. Neither covers up my text, as far as I can see, but they are distracting. The website is having "adventures" recently, including at this very minute about half of the emojis showing as blanks and no menu for uploading images or editing posts, either. So there are definitely strange things going on.
I have the emoji problem as well, but I can obviously upload images by going to "Manage Attachments".
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
314
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Bribie Island Qld Australia.
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, 21.5",OSX, Mojave Late 2012. Processor 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5. Memory now has 16GB. + macbook
I deleted all mackeeper files that I could find and restarted the computer. It didn't make any difference. Thanks for your suggestion, but we're off to the Apple shop tomorrow to get this and the slow iMac sorted out. It's only money. :[

I didn't realise the quote function wasn't working. The above post was in reply to Rod Sprague, post 29
 
Last edited:
Top