I need help with get the right resolution on my monitor

Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hmm, i got a mac book pro os x, i just bought a HP monitor 24inch, but i cant seem to get the right resolution on the monitor.

I run the monitor via HDMI cable, and i want to run the screen in 1080i stretched, can someone please help me?

i have tried all the resolutions on my my mac, but i can only use 1024*760 streched, and that dont look too good.
i want higher resolution.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
What is the native resolution of the HP monitor? You should be able to find that out in its user manual. That's the resolution you would ideally want to run the monitor at.

Also, tell us the year and model of your MBP and which version of OS X it's running.
 
OP
J
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
My screen is 1920 x 1080, and thats not an option in the system management.
i bought my mbp juny this year. my OS X version is 10.6.8 :) the mbp screen is 13,5inch
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Your new MBP has a Thunderbolt output port which is backward compatible with the Mini Display Port adapter. You should be able to use the correct adapter and cable to the HP and then be able to display at 1920 x 1080.

However, take note: The only way the HP is going to display 1920 x 1080 is if you operate the MBP in "clam shell" mode and mirror the display. In other words shut the lid on the MBP. See this Apple KB article on how to do it. LINK
 
OP
J
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
ok, but do i need a thunderbolt adapter/cable to run 1920*1080? or can i use a hdmi adapter?

it may be a stupid question :/
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
You need a mini-displayport to HDMI cable such as this.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
258
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Seattle
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 MBP 15" I7 2.3 Ghz 16 GB Ram 500 GB SSD Retina
I think once you use the proper adaptor the MBP and the external monitor will probably adjust automatically. Mine did. I use an ASUS external monitor on my 13.5 MBP with Lion and keep the Mac closed. Everything adjusts automatically for best resolution. Not sure if the same thing will happen with your version OS.
 
OP
J
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
i have not tried with my mbp screen closet yet, i will reply later after i tried, and tell u have it goes :)
 
OP
J
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Thank u all:) it finally worked, i got my mbp in Clam Shell mode, and it automatically switched to the right resolution on my monitor ':p
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Alright! Thanks for posting back and letting us know. Have fun and visit often.
:)
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top