I am at a loss...

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am at a complete loss right now as to which MacBook to buy. If you guys could give me any piece of advice/insight that you can think of it would be greatly appreciated.

I am a Grade 12 student and I'm in my last four months of high school before I go off to university. My current "laptop", an Asus transformer book, has simply not been reliable enough to take to university. I came to the conclusion that I should get a MacBook. This is where I ran into an issue. I am completely torn on whether to get the 12-inch MacBook or the 13-inch MacBook Pro. For both, I am looking at the base models and, in Canada at least, they are the exact same price ($1550). Right off the bat, here are the different aspects of the comparison which is making my decision a hard one:

Power: The Pro has the edge with 1.6ghz more power than the 12-inch
Battery Life: Both pretty much the exact same at 10hrs
Screen Res: Negligible, both have an outstanding retina display
Portability: Edge to the 12-inch by far as it's probably one the most portable/compact notebooks of all-time
Build: I prefer the full-metal build of the 12-inch over the non full-metal build of the Pro
Connectivity: The Pro by far... dongles are a pain to carry around all of the time ad USB-C isn't popular enough yet
Trackpad: Both have the exact same trackpad
Keyboard: I, unlike most, actually like the keyboard on the 12-inch. Both are good keyboards in my mind