How to disable grouping in Mission Control?

Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Just upgraded to Lion I noticed that when Mission Control is up it groups together windows of the same app. Snow Leopard had every window separated. Is there a way to separate them all like on Snow Leopard?

Thanks.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,946
Reaction score
583
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Nope, that doesn't exist anymore. The best you can do is right click a dock icon and select "Show All Windows" to show all the windows for that particular app.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
There is a way around that. If you are using a trackpad, point at the app group in expose (Mission Control) and use two fingers and swipe up and it separates all the windows of that app. There is a Key combo that does that but trying to find it again.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
3,494
Reaction score
204
Points
63
Location
Going Galt...
Your Mac's Specs
MacBookAir5,2:10.13.6-iMac18,3:10.13.6-iPhone9,3:11.4.1
Point at the group or any icon in MC and hold down the trackpad or pointing device button for a few seconds. All the icons and groups start shaking like on an iPhone. From there you can click on a grouping and it will open while still shaking. Drag an app out of the group or all apps out, whatever you like.

ETA: my bad; I was thinking of Launchpad.
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
You can enable a 3 finger swipe downward - which will only show open windows of whatever particular app you happen to be in at the time. That's about as close as you can get to the old way.
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
Also - if you're in Mission Control - position the mouse over a certain group - then 2 finger swipe up - that will expand those windows in that group.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
3,343
Reaction score
213
Points
63
Location
Forest Hills, NYC
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
You can enable a 3 finger swipe downward - which will only show open windows of whatever particular app you happen to be in at the time. That's about as close as you can get to the old way.

Yep, you got it. And this is why I still much prefer Snow Leopard's version of Spaces and Exposé. Much more efficient all together. I keep meaning to put together a short video clip of how it works in comparison. I find Lion's version of Spaces and Expose to be severely lacking.

Doug
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
Yep, you got it. And this is why I still much prefer Snow Leopard's version of Spaces and Exposé. Much more efficient all together. I keep meaning to put together a short video clip of how it works in comparison. I find Lion's version of Spaces and Expose to be severely lacking.

Doug


I wasn't sure if I'd like it - I remember reading that thread where you and others were voicing your opinions on Mission Control - but surprisingly - I do like it. It does everything I need it to and I like the window groupings. One thing I have noticed though is that Lion doesn't seem to get the Spaces right after a reboot.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Point at the group or any icon in MC and hold down the trackpad or pointing device button for a few seconds. All the icons and groups start shaking like on an iPhone. From there you can click on a grouping and it will open while still shaking. Drag an app out of the group or all apps out, whatever you like.

ETA: my bad; I was thinking of Launchpad.

glad you edited. I was about to go out of my mind as it did not work. :D Grin
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
3,343
Reaction score
213
Points
63
Location
Forest Hills, NYC
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
I wasn't sure if I'd like it - I remember reading that thread where you and others were voicing your opinions on Mission Control - but surprisingly - I do like it. It does everything I need it to and I like the window groupings. One thing I have noticed though is that Lion doesn't seem to get the Spaces right after a reboot.

Go in to preferences and into Mission Control. Make sure that the second and third check box are not ticked. This will enable you to keep windows where you want them as well as have specific apps open in specific virtual desktops from MC. Grouping honestly is quite redundant compared to what is possible in Snow Leopard. That's it, I'm making the video....

doug
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
I can use Expose with the best of them, but I still prefer MC! :D Grin
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
I can use Expose with the best of them, but I still prefer MC! :D Grin


Ahh - I guess I had misinterpreted the purpose of that second check - I actually thought it meant it would keep the app in the space I was using it in. Thanks for the tip.

Make sure the video has good music. :D
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
3,343
Reaction score
213
Points
63
Location
Forest Hills, NYC
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
Ahh - I guess I had misinterpreted the purpose of that second check - I actually thought it meant it would keep the app in the space I was using it in. Thanks for the tip.

Make sure the video has good music. :D
Taking requests......
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,946
Reaction score
583
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
I think it's obvious you need Zeppelin. :p
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Doug, NO RAP please.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
3,343
Reaction score
213
Points
63
Location
Forest Hills, NYC
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
I think it's obvious you need Zeppelin. :p

Not a fan of bands whom blatantly rip off other [unpaid] musicians lyric for lyric and note for note, no matter how good they are on stage. Yeah, Zep fit that bill unfortunately.

Doug, NO RAP please.

Awe come on playah...don't hate! ;)

I'll figure something out...

doug
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
I have heard the Zepplin rip off thing before but refresh my memory if you would.

RAP is the only thing that is called Music that I can't stand. Like everything else somewhat anyway and anything quality. :D

I trust you will put some good music in the video! :D
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
3,343
Reaction score
213
Points
63
Location
Forest Hills, NYC
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
I have heard the Zepplin rip off thing before but refresh my memory if you would.

RAP is the only thing that is called Music that I can't stand. Like everything else somewhat anyway and anything quality. :D

I trust you will put some good music in the video! :D

It will take me a bit to put together the actual songs which Zep has blatantly stolen (some of which they were found guilty of but with little to zero repercussions and others that simply weren't able to follow through with due to the original writers/musicians being dead or darned near death), but I will if you'd like. Most of them are now deceased blues musicians.

The music portion is done, as is the preliminary video, I just have to add a personal touch by recording a second audio track in order to give the blow by blow, as it were. It's a rather simple video, that took me less than 2 minutes to throw together once I had the apps I needed open. I may expand upon the video at another time, just wanted to get some basic stuff down. I'll eventually do a similar comparison vid in Lion.

Doug
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
3,343
Reaction score
213
Points
63
Location
Forest Hills, NYC
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
Keep in mind I put this together in just a few minutes for each clip. I can get into greater detail when I have more time.





After clicking on the link, hit the full screen button, as well as "stretch" and "HD", then let it buffer a bit and play!

Doug
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,946
Reaction score
583
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Care to share the password to the gallery? ;)
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top