How do I connect my iPad/iPhone to Sony Bravia TV via WiFi?

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.
I like to kid myself that I'm usually pretty good at this stuff but this one has me completely fooled.
As a result/bonus of buying a new iPhone SE2 I got a free 1 year subscription to Apple TV. As a result I tried to connect my iPad/iPhone to our large bedroom TV, a 2017 Sony Bravia smart TV. I did the usual internet search for how to do this and read through the Sony manual but with no success.
There are lots of Apps on the App store as well which claim to perform the task but after trying the best rated one and still getting no result I'm a bit discouraged.
None of the internet instructions seem to correspond to the menu options on the TV although I can see WiFi Direct which is where I'm supposed to go but cannot work out how to connect as neither the iPhone or the TV seem to be able to see each other although they are on the same network.

Any experts out there?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I guess maybe we need to ask this first......

Do you have an Apple TV?

OP
Rod

Rod

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.
No. I have had one in the past, years ago, sold it when we moved to Bali. All of the web pages I've read claim that I can connect using Sony WiFi Direct, a built in function but I'm darned if I can get it to connect. Personally I think I need some sort of receiver like Chromecast or a MiBox.
I just thought since it was free now would be a good time to use it but i really don't want to spend more money. I can always resort to HDMI connection, it just means all of the controls are out of reach.