How are these idle temps?

RLD

Reaction score
2009 iMac Core 2 Duo A1312 (EMC 2309)

The GPU seems a bit hot IMO.
I'd rather not re-paste unless I have to. But being a 2009 I can imagine the hard crusty business under those sinks >.<

Screen Shot 2021-06-11 at 10.11.51 AM.png

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
None of those are high temps and perfectly normal. You should be concerned only if it's hovering around 90+ degC constantly. My Mac Mini is siting at 63 degC for the proximity sensor while others are higher, but it's also under load as I'm working..

OP
R

RLD

Reaction score
None of those are high temps and perfectly normal. You should be concerned only if it's hovering around 90+ degC constantly. My Mac Mini is siting at 63 degC for the proximity sensor while others are higher, but it's also under load as I'm working..
I'm completely new to Apple stuff and coming from a PC that has numbers in the 20 to low 30s I was a bit concerned.
Thanks for the reply :)

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
The iMac pulls air from the bottom and vents it on top once it flows over all the components. So touching the top will be warmer/hotter than the middle or the bottom.

To that end, its important to ensure that those vents are clear of dust and other obstruction.

OP
R

RLD

Reaction score
The iMac pulls air from the bottom and vents it on top once it flows over all the components. So touching the top will be warmer/hotter than the middle or the bottom.

To that end, its important to ensure that those vents are clear of dust and other obstruction.
It went through a thorough de-dusting inside as soon as I got it :)

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15

Agree with what Ashwin mentioned...definitely keep things clean.