Hey guys complete newbie here thanks for having me

Reaction score
Hey guys newbie here so please excuse me if I’m breaking any rules or posting in the wrong place but I really need some help

I have a MacBook Pro 2011 15” I have just upgraded the ram from 8gb to 16gb I have also replac d the logic board,

I am now having trouble starting up as can’t locate my operating system..... and I can’t download from online either so I have a usb chip with El Capitan on it I was running an OS X before how do I go about installing the new operating system
On to get the MacBook running again please

Again please be gentle with me I am a virgin here ??

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
For a start, try connecting your USB Volume and restart your Mac holding down the option key and see if you cannot select the USB volume and boot from it.

Even if it works, it may be very slow to boot!!! Be patient.

Whether it boots from it or not will depend on how it was created in the first place.

Do you have any other backup or clone you made previously???

PS: Welcome to mac-forums.com.

- Patrick
======

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Welcome to Mac-Forums.:)

- Nick

OP
T
Reaction score
So I m trying to do the recovery now and am focused on getting this sorted 520AA5DA-39F0-4126-8316-637E50E79643.jpeg tonight if any one can help me through if he very appreciative I have entered disk utility as it will not boot from internet recovery and this is what I have in front of me please can you guide me on where to go now I have the new operating system on a pen drive here aswell and if possible would like to keep the data o have on my ssd drive please any help would be amazing thank you for your time and effort blessing and good heath to all

OP
T
Reaction score
Thanks nick glad to be here bud hopefully can get the help I need to get my Mac book running again