HELP! my alt key is stuck, pressed, but not (Not physically)

Reaction score
I have a macbook pro 13 (mid 2012)
my alt key is stuck, pressed, but not.
When I type, symbols appear instead of letters, as if pressed.

The mac already connects directly to selecting discs, as if pressing alt.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 16" 2023 (M3 Pro), iPhone 15 Pro, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMinis (multiple)
Try an SMC reset. Fortunately, it uses the Alt key as part of it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21 inch iMac - Ventura. iPhones 8 and MacBook Air - Catalina.
This might not be very helpful but have you tried a GOOD blast from a compressed air tank ( not too much pressure though) all round the ALT keys whilst pressing the key in all directions. This is a complete layman's answer not, repeat NOT an expert's answer. I am not a computer expert at all - believe me, more the opposite really! Might be worth a try - bits of dust can cause a short circuit.

Regards from Keith in Derby England.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
This might not be very helpful but have you tried a GOOD blast from a compressed air tank...

Keith, that is a very sensible and logical possible fix.

- Patrick
=======

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21 inch iMac - Ventura. iPhones 8 and MacBook Air - Catalina.
Patrick, thank you, just goes to show I can be useful sometimes.

Keith in Derby England,

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
We wait with bated breath to learn if the blast was the solution...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
We wait with bated breath to learn if the blast was the solution...

Or if any other solution was tried, with or without success.

I didn't check Ifixit.com to see if those keys were easily accessible for cleaning etc.