Finding files.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Apple iMac 27” desktop – Intel Core i5 (3.8GHz) – 8 GB memory – 2 TB Fusion hard drive
As a longtime Windows user I am still learning to use a MAC desktop, I am having difficulty in understanding and using file management so that I can quickly find and access files I have saved. I am looking for a tutorial on managing files in directories in a logical manner. Are there tutorials on this subject?

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
First, welcome to Mac-Forums and the world of Macs. Second, it's Mac and not MAC. :)

macOS/OS X (the operating system) doesn't impose a lot of restrictions on how you manage your files/directories. There are a couple of folders that are created for you to start with, but you can manage your files in any way you want.

Your Home folder will have Documents, Pictures and Downloads beside a couple of others. Most people use the Downloads folder as the place where you browser will download files and then those files get moved elsewhere, so the Downloads folder is just a temp holding area for files. Documents is your generic location for all of your stuff and Pictures is a way of keeping hour pictures together. Understand that this difference is just in the name, the Documents and Pictures folders don't have any special powers, it's just a folder that could be called anything else.