FAT formatting does not work on Firewire only.

Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Well, this is interesting. I took a FW800 drive today (hitachi g-tech) that works great. Repartitioned it using HFS+ and FAT (MS-DOS FAT) using Disk Utility.

Awesome right?

Well, despite the fact that a linux box, a windows box, and a Snow Leopard box will mount the FAT drive just fine... the Lion box that formatted it? Yea.. not so much.

It mounts as a USB drive, connect it to FW and it just fails with.

11/11/11 2:15:45.046 PM diskarbitrationd: unable to probe /dev/disk2s3 (status code 0xFFFFFFFC).

11/11/11 2:15:45.000 PM kernel: disk2s3: I/O error.

So, anyone else with Lion.. give this a try.


Interestingly enough, I get the following window in disk utility.

Screen Shot 2011-11-11 at 2.27.59 PM.png
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,941
Reaction score
575
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Have you tried mounting it manually (although I assume this is how DU does it anyway)? This seems like an odd issue.
 
OP
Dysfunction
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Yep. Same result.

Off to perform the Mac version of reboot... zapping the PRAM
 
OP
Dysfunction
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
and that didn't work.

I'm chalking it up to another Lion bug. w00t.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,941
Reaction score
575
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Quick question - do both partitions have the same name? This old hint seems to suggest that OS X doesn't like two partitions with the same name.

I'm in the dark here - if I find something, I'll post back.
 
OP
Dysfunction
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
same name? nope.

If it was the name issue, I'd imagine it'd be a problem as a USB device too.
 
OP
Dysfunction
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
reformatted the slice exFAT, and now it works.

/dev/disk1s2 on /Volumes/export (hfs, local, nodev, nosuid, journaled, noowners)
/dev/disk1s3 on /Volumes/exFatTest (exfat, local, nodev, nosuid, noowners) <-----
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top