external hard drive

Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
1
i need a 320GB external hard drive to back up my mac. any brands that are better than others?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
2,963
Reaction score
120
Points
63
Location
Belgium
Your Mac's Specs
iPad Pro 12.9 latest iOS
Get a Seagate or a Western Digital and you will be good.

Cheers ... McBie
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
89
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Any is good - Iomega, Seagae, etc....they are all the same, just get the cheapest one you can get that meets your specs. Don't spend a fortune.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
4,695
Reaction score
73
Points
48
Location
houston texas
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
Another vote for WD.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2006
Messages
1,785
Reaction score
84
Points
48
Location
York, UK
Your Mac's Specs
iMac: 5K 27” (2020), 3.3 GHz, 32Gb RAM. iPad2, iPad mini4, iPhone 13 Mini, Apple Watch SE
We're a three mac household and have a Freecom, WD Studio 2 and Iomega between us. No problems to report from any.
 
M

MacInWin

Guest
I have Seagate externals. One is a 1T, partitioned into two 500G spaces. The only problem with it is that it goes to sleep after 60 seconds, which means that I have to wait for the spinning beach ball to go away when I want to open/save a file because somehow the entire directory structure has to be online and active before you can do that. It's an annoyance that is documented here. I've tried what was recommended but the drive still spins down after 60 seconds of inactivity. Other than that, it's a good unit.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
7,301
Reaction score
304
Points
83
Location
Wisconsin
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
What does anyone think about Vantec?
 
OP
S
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
1
thanks to all for the input...i have a 2 GB 667 MHz memory...how much do you think i will need for a backup? i've only used 148GB of my memory on this computer.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
299
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Pennsylvania, USA
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 15"
What? No votes for Hitachi? The brand Apple uses in their MBPs...
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
1,804
Reaction score
31
Points
48
I go with Lacie from Apple have for years, no problems I have 3 externals (All Lacies)
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2006
Messages
1,785
Reaction score
84
Points
48
Location
York, UK
Your Mac's Specs
iMac: 5K 27” (2020), 3.3 GHz, 32Gb RAM. iPad2, iPad mini4, iPhone 13 Mini, Apple Watch SE
thanks to all for the input...i have a 2 GB 667 MHz memory...how much do you think i will need for a backup? i've only used 148GB of my memory on this computer.

You are confusing memory with Disk Space. The 2Gb 667 Mhz bears no relation to the size of hard disk you need, nor does the amount of disk space (not memory!) that you have left. Just how big is your existing disk - allow at least double that for your backup disk.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top