Ext HD not showing but connected?

Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
712
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
Australia (American born)
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2006 | 2011 21.5in iMac-1tb-i5-12gig | iPhone 3gs
Using XP through bootcamp..... Ext. HD shows up and functions fine through Mac.... just a storage device, however when I switch to PC and connect via USB... it shows it's connected... I can see it under devices.... but it won't mount ... or show up...... Doesn't assign a letter....

Any suggestions?
 

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,038
Reaction score
810
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Using XP through bootcamp..... Ext. HD shows up and functions fine through Mac.... just a storage device, however when I switch to PC and connect via USB... it shows it's connected... I can see it under devices.... but it won't mount ... or show up...... Doesn't assign a letter....

Any suggestions?

Is the drive formatted as "MS-DOS"? If not, XP can't read a Mac partition.
 
OP
MACyMouse
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
712
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
Australia (American born)
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2006 | 2011 21.5in iMac-1tb-i5-12gig | iPhone 3gs
Does it matter if its a usb hd? I don't recall formatting it for a mac when I got it... I just plugged it in and it showed up on my desktop...

But if that's how it became "formatted" as a mac.. I'm plum out of luck using it on the PC.... huh?
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
On the OSX side, right click on the Drives icon and click on Get Info. What does it say for Format?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
280
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Blumenau, Brazil
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2,33GHz C2D 2GB RAM 256MB video + LCD Samsung 20" 206BW + Maxtor OneTouch III 500GB
I've had similar problems when I bought a hard drive pre-formatted for mac os, and tried first to do a backup of some files on a windows computerr.

Windows indetified the usb connection, but the HD wouldn't appear in "my computer".

In the Device Manager, the driver was there, so apparently it was ok.

For that time, though, I was only able to use it on windows, after formatting it for NTFS.
 
OP
MACyMouse
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
712
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
Australia (American born)
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2006 | 2011 21.5in iMac-1tb-i5-12gig | iPhone 3gs
It's showing Mac Formatted extended.... so can I reformat without losing files? Or do I need to back it all up?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
280
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Blumenau, Brazil
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2,33GHz C2D 2GB RAM 256MB video + LCD Samsung 20" 206BW + Maxtor OneTouch III 500GB
Ok, I believe there's no way to reformat a drive without losing your files. No chance.

If you don't have the option to back up all your data before reformatting, you must rely on a third part application, such as MacDrive

Take a look: http://www.mediafour.com/products/macdrive/
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Agreed with andrebnu. MacDrive works great.

If you do decide though to reformat, back up and format with FAT32. Windows and OSX can read and write to FAT32. NTFS that Windows uses can be read by OSX but not written to.
 
OP
MACyMouse
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
712
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
Australia (American born)
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2006 | 2011 21.5in iMac-1tb-i5-12gig | iPhone 3gs
Ummm.... ok... I downloaded MacDrive but........ it's an .exe program??? I don't understand......


??

Ok.. I guess that's not what I expected it to be... sorry...

I want to back up my storage.. it's pretty full but I have some hefty files on there... was possibly looking for something to back up that drive to?

Like.... can I burn a disk image of it? Save that to CD? Then reformat the drive? But will I also be able to get these files later?

Sorry for all the questions.. not used to all this backup stuff... I just burn to CD's but I have so many now....
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
You run MacDrive under Windows and it will let you access the Mac formatted external. Hence the .exe.
 
OP
MACyMouse
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
712
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
Australia (American born)
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2006 | 2011 21.5in iMac-1tb-i5-12gig | iPhone 3gs
yeah... figured as much about that....... Well regardless... I backed up and saved all my storage files...... then reformatted the External as an MS-DOS file system..... I didn't have a choice to do Fat32...

Any........ that seemed to work...... :D
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
yeah... figured as much about that....... Well regardless... I backed up and saved all my storage files...... then reformatted the External as an MS-DOS file system..... I didn't have a choice to do Fat32...

Any........ that seemed to work...... :D

That is FAT32. Glad you got it working.
 
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Points
1
hi guys
i have been reading ur postings. and i have the similar problem like MACyMOUSE. The difference is i use HP Pavillion notebook. But have an external hard drive, which i want to share both with my iMac and HP notebook. My disk shows mac formated. Can anyone pl! help me how to to reformate the disk to MS-DOS.
i went with this problem to service center from where i bought it thinking that this the notebook problem. but they even dont know and telling me to check the whole system. and which ofcourse costs me 150 bucks
can anyone Pl! tell me how to reformat the disk.
i would really appreciate ur help or suggestions.
urgyen7
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top