cord

Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
17,626
Reaction score
1,628
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
Wrong forums if they were referring to their Kord machine gun, or Russian kord rifle.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
If you mean the mains power cord, try another one.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
587
Reaction score
32
Points
28
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB , Sonoma 14.1.1
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
17,626
Reaction score
1,628
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
If you mean the mains power cord, try another one.


Holy smokes!! You mean that some parachute and/or pyjamas are now electrically powered…??? What a neat idea. ;) :D
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,943
Reaction score
578
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
stereoscopic, you really need to provide considerably more information than you have thus far. We are unable to discern what your issue is from a terse eight words (across two posts). If you would like assistance, you need to help us by providing detailed information as to what the nature of your issue is.

As is, all we know is that something doesn't work. For all we know, it experienced a manufacturing fault or maybe your dog chewed through it. See the post in my signature for some tips on writing a question.
 
OP
stereoscopic
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
66
Reaction score
0
Points
6
its a new macbook air. the cord won't work when i plug it in. i did a hardware test and it said the cord could not be tested.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
its a new macbook air. the cord won't work when i plug it in. i did a hardware test and it said the cord could not be tested.

Since this is a new MacBook Air…and if you still have Applecare remaining…I would suggest visiting a local Apple Store…and have them look at it. If the cord is faulty…they will most likely replace it for free.

- Nick
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
587
Reaction score
32
Points
28
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB , Sonoma 14.1.1
Does the power indicator LED on the cord light up?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
17,626
Reaction score
1,628
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
its a new macbook air. the cord won't work when i plug it in. i did a hardware test and it said the cord could not be tested.


I assume you're referring to the power adapter and its cord like this:
Apple 45W MagSafe Power Adapter for MacBook Air - Apple Store (U.S.)
or even one of these:
Intel-Based Apple notebooks: Identifying the right power adapter and power cord - Apple Support

Check that it's plugged into a working electrical receptacle and that the MagSafe connectors and clean and no bits or dirt.

And maybe even check out Apple's article:
Apple Portables: Troubleshooting MagSafe adapters - Apple Support

One almost crazy thing Ill mention is that some discovered their power adapter wouldn't work if it was too cold!! It is that time of year in many parts, but something to consider. Warm it up if it is cold and try again. ;)

Let us know what you discover…
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
587
Reaction score
32
Points
28
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB , Sonoma 14.1.1
I assume that Stereoscopic is European. Is the correct voltage adapter being used?

Is the LED lit? Stereoscopic has not mentioned if it IS or NOT.

If the LED is lit, the voltage and adapter are good. If the battery indicator in the title bar has a little (S or Z) going through it, the connection to the computer is good.

If it doesn't actually CHARGE, the computer battery or internal connection from the battery output are bad, in which case, a trip to the apple store or return to the seller is in order.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I assume that Stereoscopic is European.

What gave you this idea?;) Do you mean moved from Europe recently to the US...or is located in Europe currently.

- Nick
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
587
Reaction score
32
Points
28
Location
Western North Carolina (NJ transplant)
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 13", 2020, 2.3 Ghz, Quad core i7, 16gb, 1 TB, Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB , Sonoma 14.1.1
Either, but probably the latter. He asked about something in another thread that I only found info for in another language, AND He didn't seem to understand the humor in the first couple of posts in this thread. Words are easy to translate, humor or sarcasm, not so much.

I don't need additional exercise, I get more than enough jumping to conclusions ;-)

ken
 
Last edited:

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Either, but probably the former. He asked about something in another thread that I only found info for in another language, AND He didn't seem to understand the humor in the first couple of posts in this thread. Words are easy to translate, humor or sarcasm, not so much.

Ok...I was just wondering (in case there was something I missed).

- Nick
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
17,626
Reaction score
1,628
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
… … ...
I don't need additional exercise, I get more than enough jumping to conclusions ;-)

ken


;) ;D :Smirk:
That sounds exhausting!! ;) :D

The OP's problem reminds me of a client whose MB power adapter kept "quitting" and not charging.

The cause after some lengthly checking was due to her miserly husband turning Off the "office" lights during the day --- the power adapter was plugged into the switched side of the AC receptacle that was controlled by the light switch, and designed just for a light to be plugged in for convenience.

One never knows what can be lurking sometimes…. ;)
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
LED does not light up

If the LED does not light up…then my guess is the problem is either the detachable power cord or the Mag-Safe charger itself is bad.

I already suggested earlier in the thread. If your computer has Applecare remaining…head to a local Apple store for a free replacement. Or if you do not have a local Apple Store...call Apple at their 800 number for free replacement.

- Nick
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top