Converting Master Boot Record to GUID

Reaction score
Hello folks,

I am new to Mac and recently (May 2014) bought a Macbook Pro (i7 processor, 16 GB memory, 251 BG SSD).

I have set aside 40 GB for Windows 8 (Bootcamp) and the rest is used for Mac. But recently I realized that I barely use Windows and hence want to get rid of it. I tried removing Bootcamp using Disk Utilities. But whenever I do that, the minus and plus button are greyed out and I'm unable to do so.

Secondly, I want to install the new OS X Yosemite and downloaded the file. After going through the process, I get the message that neither of my disks are using GUID partition scheme, so I can not install the software update. I checked the main disk format and it turns out to be Master Boot Record. I went through all online articles regarding this matter, but to be honest, they were pretty confusing. I could not find a clear way of converting MBR to GUID.

Could someone kindly explain how to tackle these issues?

Any input will be highly appreciated :)

P.S. Few days ago I bought a 2 TB Time Capsule to backup all my files in case something goes wrong.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Removing the windows partition is done the same way you added the partition - with Bootcamp Assistant - not with Disk Utility. Here is a walkthrough - link.

After you have your backup done...

Try removing the Windows partition first and then try installing Yosemite.

Let us know what happens from there.

OP
L
Reaction score
Hello bobtomay,

I forgot to mention that I have already done that. The thing is, the option which says ''install or remove Windows 7 or later'' is greyed out. :|

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S