Boot Camp Help

Joined
May 4, 2008
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Reno, NV
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB, Bootcamp 3.0
I just got my copy of windows home edition today for my new iMac, and I ran the boot camp setup assistant. After partitioning the hard drive, the computer restarted to install windows from the CD, and now all it is doing is showing me a black screen with a white flashing underscore in the top left corner of the screen. What am I supposed to do now?
 

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,038
Reaction score
810
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I just got my copy of windows home edition today for my new iMac, and I ran the boot camp setup assistant. After partitioning the hard drive, the computer restarted to install windows from the CD, and now all it is doing is showing me a black screen with a white flashing underscore in the top left corner of the screen. What am I supposed to do now?

It should boot from the disc after a few moments. If it doesn't, there's either something wrong with the disc, or its not a version that Boot Camp supports. Does it have SP2 integrated? Is it a retail version or an OEM version?
 
OP
nmccready
Joined
May 4, 2008
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Reno, NV
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB, Bootcamp 3.0
It's an OEM version with SP2 integrated the disc is new and unscratched.

I found this on the apple support site which got my hopes up:
http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1454?viewlocale=en_US

But I ran the fix file and it told me my computer doesn't need this update.
So I'm still confused.
 

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,038
Reaction score
810
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
OP
nmccready
Joined
May 4, 2008
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Reno, NV
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB, Bootcamp 3.0

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,038
Reaction score
810
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Yep, you definitely have the right disc there. So, it's either some peculiarity of your EFI or the disc is bad from the factory (unlikely). Does the disc seem to read OK when you stick it in and look at it under OS X?
 
OP
nmccready
Joined
May 4, 2008
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Reno, NV
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB, Bootcamp 3.0
Yeah, I can see the disc called VX2HOEM_EN and a bunch of windows files inside of it. What's EFI?
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top